Sweet Tater Quesadilla

I had planned on cooking my Ingrid recipe about Wednesday last week but as life does I got all distracted n’ stuff.  During the distractions though I was looking for recipes and I had written a few down.

Friday I looked at the few I had written down and decided on one of the recipes.  A delightful looking dish, sweet potato and caramelized onion quesadilla’s.  I got all my stuff together and when I got home I didn’t have some stuff on making it written down so I decided to get on the internetz and write it down.

That’s when the OOPSIE reared its ugly head.  I had written down a recipe I wanted to try but it wasn’t from Ingrid!  It was from a new blog I had found that had tons of recipes.  Really wanted to try these though and at this point it was too late to find something new, go back to the store, and cook it up.

So that’s the recipe you are getting!  It’s faux Ingrid though right cuz she like… kind of cooks Mexican food, most of her recipes were about getting liquored up though.  I’ll make a cocktail from her this week to makeup for it I promise!

Anyway, Mrs. Dana of Food for Thought, has a bunch of recipes and I even made hummus deviled eggs (but will talk about that later).  The quesadillas has a whole story behind them though and I highly recommend taking a look at it.

You would think this recipe would be… pretty simple but do you have any idea how hard it is to lightly brown a fucking quesadilla?  You look away a few seconds and BAM you turn around when you SMELL the burn.  I ruined 2 of the 4 quesadillas I made by getting a nice char on one side of it.  The insides were good though so I just kind of scooped ’em out and ate them like a salad.

I ended up using regular flour tortillas instead of the special ones but they turned out tasting great.  I don’t think the recipe has you make enough onions though because it could definitely have used more onions in the quesadillas.  I’m always amazed at how much onions reduce down when you get ’em cooking.

Betsy was a definite no on this recipe.  In fact she couldn’t even hide her disdain for the idea when I brought a taster over.  She was full.  That bitch!  Granted… she had just made dinner but at least her oldest loved it!

I noticed Philadelphia had some cooking creme or something but I didn’t know what it was so I used soft cream cheese, chive & onion flavor.  Turned out great.

Can’t say enough good things about this dish.  Roasted sweet potatoes are good regardless.  Then you add in the crunch of the tortilla and have you ever met a caramelized onion that didn’t play your heart strings?  Two thumbs up.

6 thoughts on “Sweet Tater Quesadilla

  1. Brigantia says:

    Have I sent you over to Pioneer Woman Cooks yet?

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/

    This woman is a serious eater, fun cook and blogger, and all the recipes I’ve tried have been to die for. Just look at the “Knock You Naked” brownie recipe on the home page!

  2. Xeo says:

    They were amazing, I can’t even tell you how good they are. Next time I make them though I’m not going to cut them into rings. Gonna make ’em like this. They should be a bit crispier and more flavorful.

  3. Xeo says:

    I’ve looked at her site before but it’s so busy my ADD loses it’s shit and clicks to a new place.

    Those brownies look AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

