Changing recipes all willy nilly

Daemia, Casual Collective, managed to find a recipe awhile back that used up a bunch of ingredients he had accumulated from the random dishes we make.  I’ve been having that same problem recently which is why I’ve been focusing on baking because they all use sugar and flour and eggs.  Problem is they have their little tidbits as well that linger around.

I’ve got several squares of white chocolate leftover from the tiramisu, quick rolled oats from the buffalo chips, arborio rice from a risotto I made (last year?).  Did you know uncooked rice keeps for like… ever?  Anyway, I’ve got all this stuff left and it’s nice when you can get rid of it.  The rice I’m using in my Anne Burrell recipe so that’s good.  The white chocolate will keep for awhile but the quick oats will go bad… quicker so that is the item I want to get rid of the quickest.

What can you make with relative ease using rolled quick oats?  Oatmeal of course but I like my oats steel cut so that won’t work.  They can be added to a lot of baked goods but I’m not making another 20 pounds of cookies so nix the recipe they were originally in.  That brings me to no bake cookies.

Betsy has made them before and they are amazing.

CHOCOLATE OATMEAL NO-BAKE COOKIES
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 stick butter
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp. vanilla
3 cups quick-cooking oatmeal
1/2 cup peanut butter
Combine sugar, cocoa, butter and milk in a saucepan. On medium heat, bring to a boil for one full minute.
Remove from heat. Stir in peanut butter (optional), vanilla and oatmeal.

Drop by spoonful onto wax paper. Let cool for at least 30 minutes.

That’s when it struck me… they are basically chocolate right?  I have chocolate… white chocolate.

I’m going to set out to modify a recipe so much that I’m going to consider it my own.  Great thing about baking is that it’s a lot of math and I’m good with the maths.  After discussing it with Betsy she pointed out that white chocolate bars already have fat and sugar in them which the cocoa powder won’t.

I’ll have to switch things up so that I’m using less sugar and butter (because too much fat in no-bake cookies makes them puddles).  Probably going to have to cut the vanilla as well.

I’ve always preached to Betsy that you can’t go changing a recipe all willy nilly when we make recipes for the FNCCC but in this instance… it’s the whole reason for doing it.  Maybe these changes are elementary for more seasoned cooks but so far I’ve been as close to the recipe as I can get.  Changing things only when I’ve absolutely had to (ie. chinese 5-spice extra spicy wings).

Wish me luck!  I’ll let ya know how they turn out (hopefully divine)!

One thought on “Changing recipes all willy nilly

  1. I expect the world to end shortly after you make these cookies. That’s what happens when you go changing recipes all willy-nilly. *nod*

Leave a Reply

