Tirami-fuckin-su

That’s right… for Jamie Oliver I decided to make tiramisu .  I’ve decided that when you bake you don’t do it for yourself.  You bake things for others because by the time you are done mixing and beating and folding and sweating and baking you just want the thing to be done and over with.  That’s why baked goods are always given away.

Did you know baking is also french for disaster in your kitchen. I dirtied up more dishes making tiramisu than making a dinner with two sides, it’s just crazy.

Anyway, just figuring out what went in this thing was difficult.  Mr. Oliver put all his directions in grams but Food Network was nice enough to convert that into ounces.  I’ve never measured flour by ounces so I converted ounces to tablespoons (nothing could go wrong with all these conversions right?)  I don’t own a coffee maker so I stopped by Starbucks to pickup a 5-shot of espresso.  I’m sure they thought something was wrong with me because they gave me a look like I was some sort of crack addict getting their fix.

All kidding aside the sponge cake was relatively easy to make.  My kitchen was hot though so getting the eggs and sugar into stiff peaks (or the ribbon stage) was a bit difficult.  I’ve seen chef’s whip shit by hand and I have NO IDEA how they do that.  I got out the electric mixer and whipped it into a splattering frenzy.  After that comes folding in a bunch of random shit.  Folding is stupid.  Why can’t I just mix that shit in?

Put the stupid cake in to bake and that’s when I started making the filling.  Not sure why it’s called a filling since it goes on like an icing but whatever.

I started making the filling when I realized I needed a cup to start melting the white chocolate in.  Grabbed the one in front of me and went oops.

The cup contained the butter that was supposed to be folded into the sponge cake…

…that was in the oven baking.

I shrugged, nothing I could do about it now!

Who came up with mascarpone?  It has the same consistency as marshmallow fluff.  It didn’t want to come out of the container, off my hands, or off the mixer.  Highly suggest making sure it is at least at room temperature or warmer.  The warmer the better.

/timer ding

I get the genoise (no idea what that means) sponge out of the oven and it actually looks good.  Test it for done’ness and it’s… done.  Set it aside to cool and started looking for a pan to put all this shit in.

Improvisation set in as I realized I have 2 things to bake in.  One is a sheet pan which would not work for this and the other is a the pan the sponge was made in.  I tipped the sponge cake over onto my cutting board and cleaned out the pan while it was continuing to cool so I could make the stupid thing in that.

The filling had something called Vin Santo in it.  For those that failed to click the link it is an italian desert wine that is sweet.  Not quite port sweet but still yummy and also dry.  When I asked about it at the liquor store the old lady looked at me like I asked if I could see her boobs.  She had never heard of a vin santo (surprise!) and asked about it.  She recommended a moscato because it’s a sweet dry white wine.  Sweet and dry aren’t two things I would have figured a wine could be but she was right and it’s really good.

Jamie’s directions on putting it together are a bit not helpful.  I should have trusted my gut here but didn’t.  I’ve always seem tiramisu as layers.  I considered cutting the edges off the sponge and then cutting it into a top / bottom layer.  If I make it again then I will most certainly do that.  Then I can drizzle the tia maria (amazing liquor that you should drink a shot with a can of coke or dr. pepper, it gives the soda a chocolate flavor) on one layer and the espresso on the other.

INSTEAD I broke the sponge up and tried piecing stuffing it back into it’s original pan.  Obviously I would endup with more sponge than I started so I had to put the extra in two bowls and make individual portions of tiramisu.  After that you drizzle on the espresso / white chocolate / tia maria.  Super easy and then you put the filling or icing on top.

I put it in the ice box to setup and then had some later that night.

It came out pretty good.  The coffee flavor from 5 shots was quite overpowering though and the desert is VERY rich.  VERY RICH!

1.  Use lady fingers OR cut the edge off the sponge and cut into two layers.  Don’t soak, just drizzle the espresso (no more than 4 shots) onto it.  Be careful with the white chocolate because it creates a crunch to it so big globs of it can really throw off the texture.

2.  Make sure the filling is warm, I’d suggest warming it up enough to pour unless you are good at putting cake icing on cake that moves a lot more than regular cake.

 

Recipe

Note: 1 oz. = 1 T

Genoise sponge:

  • 3 1/2 ounces (110 grams) caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 3/4 ounces (50 grams) melted butter
  • 3 ounces (85 grams) plain flour
  • 1-ounce (30 grams) good-quality cocoa powder

Filling:

  • 1 pound 1-ounce (500 grams) mascarpone
  • 2 1/2 ounces (70 grams) caster sugar
  • 2 egg yolks*
  • 3.5 fluid ounces (100 milliliters) Vin Santo
  • 4 to 5 shots espresso coffee
  • Tia Maria liqueur
  • 3 1/2 ounces (110 grams) good-quality white chocolate, melted
  • Cocoa powder, for dusting
  • 1 bar good-quality dark chocolate, for shavings

Directions

First make the sponge. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C /gas 4).

Whisk the sugar and eggs until they are at ribbon stage. Fold in the melted butter, then fold in the sifted flour and cocoa. Pour the mixture into a lined Swiss roll tin and bake in the preheated oven for 10 minutes. Remove the sponge from the oven when it is done and leave to cool.

To make the filling, put the mascarpone, sugar, egg yolks, and Vin Santo into a bowl and mix until smooth.

To assemble the tiramisu, break up the sponge and press it into the bottom of a shallow dish. Drizzle over the coffee, Tia Maria, and white chocolate. Spoon over the mascarpone filling, then dust liberally with cocoa. Using a large knife, scrape the chocolate towards you to make shavings and arrange these delicately over the top.

 

3 thoughts on “Tirami-fuckin-su

  1. Shiny says:

    I lol’d at the butter oops and the liquor store visit. I always enjoy reading your cooking adventures because it makes me feel better about my own kitchen issues. 🙂

  2. Rima says:

    Think the “euro trash way” will be as follows then:

    We always use lady fingers over here. Just use a deep plate to mix your coffee and liquor (over here a lot of people use amaretto, a very sweet liquor with almond.).

    Then you soak your lady fingers in them and spread them out over the bottom of your baking plate. A layer of mascarpone mix, again soaked fingers and mascarpone mix.

    Depending on how long u soak ur fingers you’ll get more moist in the dessert I guess.

    I think Genoise sponge is from the area it came from. According to my recollection Tiramisu is Italian and you have a city there Genova, so ” Genovan Sponge???”

  3. Xeo says:

    @Shiny: It drives me crazy cuz I get all my stuff out and ready and then I fail to put something in. I totally lucked out that the sponge cake turned out okay. I’m glad my kitchen fails can make you feel better about yours! /hug

    @Rima: LOL! Euro’s are great, I’d totally live over there if I knew a language other than english. A friend of mine, Betsy (Waiting For Water To Boil), used lady fingers when she made it too. I think she put on WAY to much amaretto though and all it tasted like was alcohol. Lady fingers sounds WAY easier though then making your own sponge cake for it.

Leave a Reply

