IRL: FNCCC – Chinese 5-Spice Chicken Wings and Cilantro Dip

Mr. Dave Lieberman was the chef this week and he had A LOT of soups to choose from… but I’m not much of a soup guy.  In fact, I’m not a chicken wings guy either.  I don’t really like eating foods that get my hands all dirty and nasty.  It’s why the only ribs I eat are literally fork tender.

I chose to make them anyway, Chinese 5-spice chicken wings.  I failed to recognize that I live in a tiny ass town though.  A lot of the more obscure components in dishes we don’t even carry in town.  Our asian market is an isle in Walmart.  I checked the spices though and guess what… no chinese 5 spice.

/call Betsy

She looks up a recipe for me so I can just make the chinese 5 spice on my own.  This stuff is crazy, it makes me think of curry in that there’s a fuckton of different things in it.

  • 1 tsp. ground Szechwan pepper
  • 1 tsp. ground star anise
  • 1-1/4 tsp. ground fennel seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground white pepper

I’m not sure what a szechwan pepper is… but we don’t have them in any form.  Star anise?  I’ve heard of them, I think they are usually used in desserts?  No idea, but we didn’t have that either.  I have fennel seeds though!  Granted, I’d have had to grind them myself so I can’t imagine that being fun.  Ground cinnamon, salt, and white pepper are all easy enough to get.  Ground cloves is what broke me though, it was $10 for a bottle of it and I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t ever use them again.

Chinese 5-spice was a bust /le sigh.  I already had the stuff for the cilantro dip though and I LOVE CILANTRO.  I was determined to make it and so I grabbed some Ms. Dash Extra Spicy that wasn’t designed as a rub at all.

I bought the chicken as already cut into winglettes because there was no way in hell I was going to butcher me some chicken.  Maybe I should become a vegetarian… maybe just when I cook!

The chicken wings had to be patted dry which wasn’t too difficult and they actually don’t feel all that bad in your hands (nothing like a lump of pork does)!  I put them in one of my gi-fucking-normous bowls that I got at a garage sale last year and tossed it.  I was only going to make half of the wings, not knowing if I’d even be capable of making anything tastey since I was taking a chance on the nonrub.  The nonrub had cayenne pepper in it already so I added an extra tablespoon of the nonrub rather than a whole bunch of extra cayenne possibly making them over spicy.

The part that really appealed to me about this recipe was the fact the chicken wings were supposed to be crispy on the outside.  I HATE BUFFALO WINGS.  They are the epitomy of getting your hands nasty while trying to eat something, plus I don’t like the flavor.  Mainly it’s the dirty factor though.

I got the chicken tossed, laid out on sheet pans and in the oven.

Next up was the cilantro dip.  Did I mention I love cilantro?  It’s the only reason I considered making something that combines, sour cream, mayo, and yogurt… srsly… wtf?!  Once the lemon is added in it thins it out quite a bit and very much resembles ranch.  If I made it again I’d probably leave the yogurt out as it made it too sweet for me (yes, I used the right yogurt all the people that just asked that).

/elapse 25 minutes

Wings were done!  They were PERFECT.  Crispy on the outside but still moist on the inside.  I salted them perfectly and I guessed right on just how much nonrub to add.  I would make these again for sure and would happily try mixing the spices on them.  Making them like this where they aren’t drenched is a great way to do it as well.

3 thoughts on “IRL: FNCCC – Chinese 5-Spice Chicken Wings and Cilantro Dip

  1. These were so tasty that you inspired me to make some wings myself. I went and bought some of the same little wingettes that you did, but I bought a different spice rub. We’ll see how they turn out tomorrow night!

  2. Pingback: homemade

Leave a Reply

