IRL: Blogging for Profit

I’ve been blogging for some time now, since Wrath of the Lich King was released (do you know your addicted to WoW when you use it to measure time)?  I never expected my blog to get big, if anything I expected a ton of hate cuz I’m a bit opinionated.

In the words of a friend of mine

You just generally aren’t a very nice person are you.

But I am!

You might be wondering what this has to do with the title by now… me too!  As I said, I’ve been blogging for awhile and never really considered making any money off of it.  Most of the time it’s a stress reliever and allows me to vent a little bit.  Recently I was approached about posting something called infographics on the blog.

There’s a bit of monetary compensation from posting the infographics which is cool and they said they’d be gaming related (although just about anything could be put up here with the way I write).

I went back and reread the emails between us and it sounds more like a banner ad (I’m not sure why they would call it an infographic). I guess it’s okay to have ads right as long as they aren’t for things like gold buying or animal prostitution.

Anyone else with a blog or website that has ads on it?  Am I even allowed to earn money from a free blog hosted by WordPress?  So many questions… so I’ll just ask  y’all in case you know to save myself some time.

Thx!

2 thoughts on “IRL: Blogging for Profit

  1. i use an Infographics tracker on my DMZ blog, but i dun generate enough traffic to meet their criteria for even the .01/click at the moment.

  2. Xeo says:

    Yea, after some thought I think I’m just going to pass on it. It’s a neat idea but not the reason I’m doing this… or at least my number hasn’t been hit yet!

Leave a Reply

