IRL: Sweet n’ Sour Pork & Bailey’s Irish Cream Brownies

I kind of chickened out of the Iron Chef thing mainly because my culinary abilities are lackluster.  The secret ingredient would have to have been chicken cuz all I can make is chicken curry, garlic chicken pasta, grilled chicken, or oatmeal… and we don’t want chicken in oatmeal.  Instead I went with the asian theme and asked Betsy for a recipe.

She got the sweet n’ sour pork recipe for me (it’s actually of her making).  Betsy was going to make egg rolls and they use the same sauce as the pork so we joined forces and cooked the meals together.

Sweet and Sour Sauce

1 cup unsweetened pineapple juice
¼ cup ketchup
¼ cup white wine vinegar
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 capful sherry
2 tablespoons cornstarch
4 oz pineapple juice

Combine pineapple juice, vinegar, soy sauce, sugar and ketchup. Stir over moderate heat to simmering. Dissolve cornstarch in sherry and juice. Add to sauce. Set aside.

I started off by getting the sweet n’ sour sauce ready and simmering.  Originally I was going to make this at my house and I don’t actually own ketchup (cuz I don’t eat it on anything but fries and I don’t make those) so I gathered up a bunch of ketchup packets from Braum’s.  For some reason Betsy was a no go on letting me use packets and forced me use a bottle.

Sure, I’ve smelled vinegar before but never mixed it into something and then had to REALLY smell it.  Christ on a candlestick that stuff is nauseating.

We left the sherry out of the recipe (cuz we didn’t have any) and I don’t think there is much of a loss for not having it so whatever.

Sweet and Sour pork

1.5 lb pork roast cut into 1 inch cubes
Soy sauce
Corn starch for dredging
Oil for frying
1 green bell pepper, cut into 1 inch chunks
1 small onion, cut into 1 inch chunks
1 carrot sliced diagonally
1 small can pineapple chunks, drained
1 recipe of Sweet and Sour sauce

Marinate the pork in soy sauce while you chop the veggies.  Heat 2 to 3 tablespoons of oil and begin dredging the marinated pork in corn starch.  Fry the pork in batches until browned and remove it to the side.  Once all of the pork is browned, clean the corn starch residue from the skillet and preheat 2 tablespoons of oil.  Add the green pepper, onion and carrot and cook until almost tender.  Add the pork back to the skillet and toss with the vegetables.  Add sweet and sour sauce and pineapple and heat through.  Serve over rice if desired.

I’m not a big fan of cutting chicken but pork is worse… especially when its in a big block and you have to cut it into cubes.  OMFG it’s so nasty to even touch.  Almost ruined the pork when I was touching it and got a whiff of the vinegar I failed to close.  My lunch bubbled up about halfway before I managed to suppress it.  Betsy was laughing.

Remember how I was talking about my lack of culinary skills?  In the time it took me to cube a piece of pork and cut the veggies… Betsy had filled 20 egg rolls & deep fried them.

Then she started laughing at me because she said she didn’t think she’d be even close to done by the time I was since my recipe was so easy.  What a bitch!

I started dredging the pork in corn starch to make these fancy batter gloves that are so going to be in season soon.  They are biodegradable which is a plus!

As soon as I started frying them up Betsy says, “Want to see a more efficient way of doing that?”  HILARIOUS!  It’s likes when we raid and I offer better ways to do things and Betsy snaps at me.  She tells me to let her do it her way and here she is trying to tell me what to do?!

So she took over and dinner got done a half hour before I would have probably gotten it done.

In the kitchen Betsy makes me feel about as useful as a one legged man in an ass kicking contest.  She’s a friggin’ dervish in there and really tears it up.

It turned out pretty good.  The pork was amazingly tender for how cheap the meat was, really surprised on that part.

After dinner I got started on the Bailey’s Irish Cream Brownies (well on making them, I had already started drinking the Bailey’s).  They looked AMAZING from the pictures and after Betsy’s Bailey’s Cream Puffs I knew I wanted to eat something else that had Bailey’s in it.

Betsy has a fancy new mixer which I got to use… and by got to use I mean I watched her do it while she told me how to do it.  She was nice enough to let me use her hand mixer from the 80s to make the cream cheese middle though.

I was really worried about how to keep the layers separate when putting them in the pan.  Brownie batter (which I’ve never really paid attention to before) is a lot thicker than I thought.  It layered down pretty easily and the cream cheese layer smoothed on very easily.  Just like the brownie batter it was just thick enough to keep it from easily mixing with the brownie.

In it went for 40 minutes and came out looking like this.

It just looks like unsurprising brownies.  Nothing special.  Then you cut into it and server it.

Om nom nom nom… soooooo good.

3 thoughts on “IRL: Sweet n’ Sour Pork & Bailey’s Irish Cream Brownies

  1. Brigantia says:

    Fail. A Masaharu Morimoto inspired recipe should have used pork ears and eyeballs. And he would have made dessert from them.

  2. If you could have seen him cutting up the pork roast, you would have thought it was pork ears and eyeballs. It was pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

