More 4.0.6 Changes

There’s a new PTR build and with it come more changes to our class.

General Changes…

Mind Control now has a PvP duration of 8 seconds.

RAWRRWEswfjosidflskjdl smash computer!

Mind Sear can now be channeled on friendly targets in addition to enemy targets. In addition, Mind Sear’s damage has been increased by roughly 15%.

Mind Sear has been needing a boost since it was originally nerf’d.  When a s.pirate drops form to run in and holy nova you know there’s a problem.  The really awesome part though is that I can target the tank and use him as the focus to spew out the damage.  Vera nice.

Prayer of Healing effectiveness has been reduced by 15%.

Sad panda.  This spell didn’t feel like it really put much of a dent in players HP to me in the first place so lowering it makes me want to use it less.  Now that I can keep Chakra: Sanctuary AE with prayer of mending for awhile it’s highly unlikely I’ll be using this spell at all.

Discipline

Divine Aegis: Critical effects from Prayer of Healing now award a bonus amount in addition to the default, always-proc Divine Aegis effect.

I wonder if the nerf to PoH is a direct response to fixing aegis’ proc on it?  /shrug

In addition to Strength of Soul’s existing effects, when Power Word: Shield is placed on oneself, the priest becomes immune to silence, interrupt, and dispel effects for 2/4 seconds.

I’m guessing this is meant for pvp but it’s pretty F’ing awesome for those few encounters that apply a temporary silence debuff (that DBM yells at you is coming).

Holy

Chakra

  • Binding Heal and Holy Word: Serenity now refresh the duration of Renew on the target, in addition to the other direct heals.
  • Binding Heal, Flash Heal, Greater Heal can now trigger Chakra: Serenity.
  • Mind Spike can now trigger Chakra: Chastise.

Chakra: Serenity Single Target (C:ST) getting better only makes me a happier healing bean.  It makes juggling renew timers a lot easier that’s for sure and I don’t have to worry about trying to splice a regular heal into the mix when I’m having to spam g.heal on the tank.

Circle of Healing effectiveness has been increased by 30%.

Maybe it’s just me but CoH does sick amounts of my healing.  I use it on CD and it’s doing 15-20% of my healing.  I’ll certainly take a 30% boost to it.  My average is 4500 so 1350 on top of that seems good.  That’s 8100 (1350 x 6)… zomg love.

Guardian Spirit: The absorb/heal from this ability can now never exceed 200% of the maximum health of the target.

I don’t understand the “cap” on the ability so it makes me wonder where it was being abused.  Maybe on a fight where you use an NPC or something?  Would love to be enlightened on this.

Shadow

Shadow Orbs benefit from mastery has been increased by approximately 16%.

I don’t read enough on shadowpriest.com but I’m pretty sure mastery isn’t living up to it for them.  They are still gaining so much more benefit from haste and int that the mastery is negligible.  A friend of mine, Bryanae (definitely a better s.priest than I), has less gear but blows me out of the water because I stack mastery more than haste / int (cuz of my gear being healing).

Did I mention that I didn’t endup having to go shadow?  I’ll hit on that eventually maybe /shrug.

Another really awesome part of this next patch is the new alchemy stones.  I’m not stuck with one that gives me a fuckton of sta that I don’t really need and I can get a whole bunch of int and mastery /cheer, Vibrant Alchemist Stone.

Also changes to the mats on flasks (more life, less herbs) which is nice as well.  Come to us soon patch!

6 thoughts on “More 4.0.6 Changes

  1. Conifer says:

    First: the INT alchemy stone gives haste (not mastery). Good for me, probably not so good for you.

    And it looks like you are getting single target buffs while all my changes are making me a more effective raid healer again (back to Wrath: rejuv/WG spam). Guess you’ll be tank healing soon. 🙂

  2. It’s interesting, I thought PoH was totally op (definitely the best aoe heal in the game) and on most raid fights it was some 30% of my healing done (don’t forget to glyph it!). I can definitely see why they wanted to nerf this. You should learn to love it! 🙂

  3. Jerilynn says:

    Oh, interesting.

    I don’t understand the nerf to PoH… it takes gobs of mana and isn’t that great in the first place 😛 Maybe because of the HoT glyph?

    I’m happy they changed the renew renewal business. I tried to be Holy for 1 instance, and got irritated because I felt like I *had* to use Heal in situations where it wasn’t really effective. I may take another look at Holy sometime now.

  4. Xeo says:

    Yea haste is good, I just want mastery more. I need some silly amount to get to another tick atm.

    There is NO WAY you’ll find me tank healing. Plus on a single target fight it’s more likely our shaman will be on MT.

  5. Xeo says:

    I’ll have to put some more effort into using it then. Are you raiding 10 or 25? I’m raiding 10 and I find a bunch of renews to be more useful than a POH. Maybe that’s why? I could see POH being more useful with a lot more people. Either way I’ll try to use it more often tonight and see how it goes.

  6. Xeo says:

    You and I are in the minority Jer. We need to lrn2play lol. I know the glyph definitely gives a nice boost to it for sure. Just gonna have to test it out a bit more, see how it goes. It just doesn’t feel like it does a whole lot for the cost.

    The C:ST changes are AWESOME. Very happy with those and makes it soooo much easier to use it.

Leave a Reply

