Day of Change pt.1

I’d like to say my week has been eventful but it all happened in a single day!

Wednesday was supposed to be a quiet happy day filled with butterflies and joy.  It kind of was…

I took the day off because I had bought a new desktop.  It was a pretty good deal but the downside was getting it from HP.  I didn’t realize just how big of a downside that would be until I got.

I set it up, turned it on, and 2 of the 8gigs of RAM were being used just to run the Windows 7 HP modified OS.  That made me a bit angry so I called HP and asked why I didn’t get any restore discs, specifically with my Windows 7 OS system.  I was told that it comes with software preloaded and I had to burn my own restore disc!

I was having some issues getting the side panel off so he told me how to do that and asked why I needed to open it.  I pointed out that I was changing out the graphics card and the power supply (because my graphics card requires more than a 350 wattage to run).  He said I could change out the graphic card but touching the power supply would void my warranty.

Seriously I asked?  He said yes and the conversation was done.  I considered voiding the warranty anyway because the computer was what I wanted (minus video card / power supply which I was cannibalizing out of my old comp).  I’d still be stuck with a shitty OS though so I’d have to revert back to my old copy of XP.

I got the bright idea that maybe HP had a service center where I could go to get the power supply changed out without fucking the warranty.  I called back customer service and it was after 5pm on the east coast so I got xfer’d to India.  Granted, I’m a redneck and my mastery of the english language leaves something to be desired but this guy’s english was pretty bad.  That would have been fine though if he had any idea WTF I was talking about.

I asked him about the power supply thing and he said he was unsure he’d have to ask his supervisor.  I was like, uhm, okay, they just fucking hired him today… what luck.  I shit you not, 20 minutes later he comes back and is telling me he’s never heard of them sending the wrong power supply in a tower and gives me a number to call for maintenance.

What are you talking about I asked?  Nevermind!  I just want a refund.  How do I get my money back?  I had been on the phone with this guy for all of 15-20 minutes but a total phone time of 45 (because of all the holds he kept putting me on while he searched through his manual).  I ended up just hanging up on him when he said he’d have to put me on hold again to ask his supervisor about refunds.

I checked the HP website, got a number for an RMA and the bitch is goin’ back.  Sadly, my new comp is going back and when I get my refund I’ll do the SMART thing and just order the stupid pieces and put it together myself.

HP and Dell are probably great if you don’t know the difference between a motherboard and the wooden paddle your mom beats you with.

5 thoughts on “Day of Change pt.1

  1. Xeo says:

    HP Pavilion Elite HPE-450t series
    • Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    • Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-870 quad-core processor [2.93GHz, 1MB L2 + 8MB shared L3 cache]
    • 8GB DDR3-1333MHz SDRAM [4 DIMMs]
    • 1TB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive
    • Norton Internet Security(TM) 2011 – 15 month (the devil!)
    • 1GB NVIDIA GeForce 315 [DVI, HDMI, VGA adapter] (crap, about the size of an iphone)
    • No speakers
    • LightScribe 16X max. DVD+/-R/RW SuperMulti drive
    • Integrated Ethernet port, No wireless LAN
    • 15-in-1 memory card reader, 1 USB, 1394, audio
    • Integrated sound
    • HP USB keyboard and optical mouse

    That was the specifics on the rig I’m sending back. I’ve got a geforce gtx 275 that runs great but my current processor / ram is totally capping what it can do. I’m still on a SINGLE core (gasp!) so it’s kind of sad. I didn’t need the mouse, love the one I have now. The keyboard was pretty for a free keyboard but I’m trying to find an old Model M IBM keyboard, the ones with the buckling spring. They make a fuckton of noise, if you type real fast it sounds like a machine gun! but I hit the keys really hard and it tends to destroy keyboards rather quickly and they are of a much sturdier design than the throw away things made now adays.

  2. Norhia says:

    I built my own box and I promise it’s easy like pie. If people haven’t shoved it at you yet, newegg.com is my BFF.

Leave a Reply

