Witty Oatmeal

Whoever said that breakfast is the most important meal of the day wasn’t lying.  I certainly feel a lot better now that I’m eating that early morning stuff.  You realize you have more energy and you don’t necessarily want to slip into a coma (unless you’ve gone to bed at 4am cuz of Starcraft 2 again).

I was eating cereal and soy milk for breakfast but I used all my soy milk making white russians so I’ve had to figure out something else to eat in the mornin’.

I had an old recipe for some oatmeal I was eating and figured I’d check out the ingredients and see how healthy it is.  Turns out… it’s pretty healthy!

What’s in it?

  • 1/4 cup Steel-cut Oats
  • 1 T Golden Raisins
  • 1 T Mini Chocolate Chips
  • 1 T Flaxseed Meal
  • 1 T Almonds, Sliced
  • 1 Banana

Super simple isn’t it?  Put the water on to boil and when it does… put in the oats!  Steel cut oats are better for you than rolled oats (and imo taste better).  Steel cut oats aren’t processed as much so most of the nutrients are still in it.  It takes 5 mins to cook the 1/4 cup steel-cut oats.

While those are cooking put the banana in a bowl and mash it into baby food.  Once its mushed up mix in the flaxseed meal.  It’s supposed to be better if you buy flaxseed and mill it yourself… but there’s no fucking way I’m gonna do that.  Just buy it already processed.  The name sounds intimidating but it’s not.  It’s healthy for you n’ stuff n’ it has a nutty flavor.

Once the oatmeal is done drain it and pour it into the bowl on top of the banana n’ flax  mush.  Then add your golden raisins, almonds, and mini choco chips.  Take a picture and then mix it up!

It’s a bit sweet for some (read: Betsy) but I love the shit out of it.  I’m not sure how you could cut the sweetness since the amounts are already pretty small and very integral to the dish.  You might try cutting the banana in half but then you are stuck with half a banana that is probably just going to sit around.  The raisins are needed for texture and the choco chips bring a lot of flavor plus cutting a tablespoon in half doesn’t get you a whole lot less of them but you could try it.

Nutrition Info:

Ingredient Calories Fat Protein Carbs Fiber
Oats 150 2.5 7 26 4
Raisins 32.5 0 .25 7.75 .5
Choco Chips 70 0 4 9 0
Flaxseed 30 3 5 4 4
Almonds 80 6 7 3 1.5
Banana 90 1.1 .3 23 2.6
Total 452.5 17.35 18.8 72.75 12.6 60.15

At the bottom right of the table you see 60.15… that is your net carbs.  Net carbs are the carbs minus your fiber.  Fiber carbs aren’t processed into glucose.  That is a lot of carbs for breakfast but I usually eat it after my workout plus I don’t have a snack between breakfast / lunch so I kind of front load it.

[elapse 30 minutes]

I tried looking up more info about how many carbs you should be eating for breakfast and couldn’t find anything definitive.  I could find info on a diabetic and I could find info if you are body building but nothing on how much a normal person should eat.  60 is too many for a diabetic, they only want like 45 max and the body building diet carbs I saw were 100+ (INSANE).  I’m not far over diabetic and well below the body building so I’d say it is an okay amount.  It has a good chunk of fiber in it, around 1/3rd of your daily value…

Woman

25 grams per day, for women younger than 50
21 grams per day, for women older than 50

Men

38 grams per day, for men younger than 50
30 grams per day, for men older than 50

There ya have it!

Talk about a tangent eh?  Breakfast recipe into educational seminar… very good job Mr. Xeo.

The oatmeal is pretty good, good enough to keep eating it every morning.  You could switch the nuts for pecans or use walnuts (which is what the original calls for).  I’ve used butterscotch chips (+10 cal) instead of chocolate ones for a nice twist.  I haven’t switched the raisins for the dark ones but haven’t tried it yet.  The banana is pretty integral so I’m not sure what I’d be able to switch it out for.  I could try dropping the banana and just mixing everything straight into the oatmeal for a large carb cut.

Hope you like it!

7 thoughts on “Witty Oatmeal

  1. Shiny says:

    Sounds good, and I have all of the ingredients except the bananas atm. Maybe I’ll try it one morning for breakfast, minus the choc chips. Not really a chocolate person. Bet it would taste good with a little peanut butter mixed in.

  2. Xeo says:

    Really good idea on the peanut butter… the hot oatmeal should make it move around and stuff.

    A tablespoon of peanut butter…
    90cal / 8g fat / 3g carb (1g fiber) / 4g protein

    soooo gonna try that tomorrow!

  3. Xeo says:

    AND if you used chunky peanut butter you could drop the almonds… maybe just double the peanut butter to 2 T though.

  4. Alexandra loves peanut butter in her oatmeal, and I have to agree with her. It’s pretty good.

    What about some unsweetened applesauce instead of the banana? That might be good.

  5. Shiny says:

    Btw, I love how you got all geeky and did a food analysis of it, with a chart and paragraph explaining it all.

Leave a Reply

