FNCCC 12 – Cilantro Rice

OMG I can’t believe I forgot to post this!

Betsy did hers on Saturday and originally was going to make Chilli Verde (a mexican dish).  She showed me this Mambo Rice and our local mexican place that we eat makes a GREAT cilantro rice so I wanted to try it out.

I got to Betsy’s on Saturday and I find out she’s changed her mind!

She’s making some chinese dish that I can’t imagine will be complimented by cilantro rice (especially since the dish is rice based itself).  She makes her dish and WHAM!  The rice is a pile of inedible mush.

I jump on the chance to make my rice and she helps me out by using her ninja knife skills to cut shit up (cuz she wants to eat at a decent time and she says I’m slow).  We used semi instant rice (is it instant if it takes 20mins)?  The rice turned out great even though we made it in the microwave and then we mixed all the ingredients into the rice.

It turned out surprisingly well.  A few changes here and there and it would be a GREAT side dish.  I’d probably prefer wild rice maybe or something that would benefit from the cilantro more than the white rice.

Betsy also made a pork loin that was supposed to be mixed into the rice but when we realized the rice was baby food (which Tiny (the middle child) loved) we waited for my rice.  I don’t have a pic of it but it turned out pretty good.

 1 entries so far… you're next!


  1. Guy Fieris Baked Potato Salad

    You are next…
    Click here to enter

4 thoughts on “FNCCC 12 – Cilantro Rice

  1. Hello there,

    Ohh that cilantro rice looks yummy! Was wondering if you might like to try Goose Valley Wild Rice as it is 100% whole grain, gluten-free and Grade A quality. It’s just getting into stores in New York.

    I can arrange for some to be sent to you free of charge if you are interested in trying out the brand. Let me know where you would like it sent, and check out goosevalley.com for recipe ideas.

    All the best,

    Nicole

  2. Xeo says:

    Hihi Nicole!

    I sent you an email in regards to the rice so hope to hear back from you soon on that. I’m gonna love trying it and thank you very much for the comment!

    -Wil (Xeonio)

  3. Xeo says:

    Yea it woulda been great with that… why don’t you make those!

    The recipe was stupid simple to make though which is nice!

Leave a Reply

