FNCCC 8 – Giada De Laurentiis

This weeks chef is Giada De Laurentiis… go cook something scrumptious yo.

Her recipes are here.  She’s pretty but most importantly she makes Italian food.  Hello pasta.  I have to all out this week since I might have failed you guys completely last week.

Maybe I’ll make my OWN pasta… can you do that w/o one of those pasta making machines?  How do you get spaghetti?  Do I just force some pasta dough through a straw?  Oh well, we’ll see how it goes!

8 thoughts on “FNCCC 8 – Giada De Laurentiis

  1. Shiny says:

    Oh Xeo, you’ve hit the jackpot on this one. While I can’t have most of the pasta (some of the recipes I could sub in my quinoa pasta), her recipes look awesome…and the ratings show it. I started my preliminary “maybe” recipe list and I already have 12 of hers that I want to try.

    This one wasn’t in her top 100 but oh, my. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/frozen-brownie-sundaes-recipe/index.html
    Yummmmmmm. I doubt I’ll make that one but it looks really good.

  2. Tagra says:

    Yeah I’m thinking of bookmarking this one. I follow a diabetic diet because diabetes is a major contender in my family, and eating like one is the best way to avoid becoming one… but I eat a lot of pasta still. (whole wheat pasta, mind you! And I usually compromise by taking more sauce than noodles >.>) Why avoid getting diabetes if I can’t eat pasta in the meantime right???! But I like to find new things to do with it.

    On the first page there’s a chicken carbonara recipe I’m thinking of making because I know my husband would love it. It looks ridiculously unhealthy with all the bacon and cream in it. Mmmmm unhealthy.

  3. If you’re in the market for a good pasta that can be used on a diabetic diet, look for Dreamfields pasta. I used it while I was preggers and had gestational diabetes. I could eat a TON of it and never have a blood sugar reading out of range. Best. stuff. ever.

  4. Tagra says:

    I’ve read about that, but there was a big fooferaw about the labelling of it and it was pulled off all the shelves, and now it’s next to impossible to find in Canada. I could order it online I suppose (I didn’t actually check if they DO ship it here…), but Whole Wheat pasta is medium-low GI so I can successfully make excuses for it too.

    Also heavy cream is totally dairy protein, right guys?!?

  5. Tagra says:

    I’ve never used quinoa, but some (very) quick research suggests it’s even lower GI than whole wheat. I might have to see if we have any of that easily available and give it a whirl. Is it a lot more expensive?

  6. Shiny says:

    Look for Ancient Harvest Quinoa pasta…you can google it too. Comes in macaroni, curly, spaghetti, pagodas, and I think penne. It is more expensive than regular pasta but tastes better than whole wheat (IMO). I can get several varieties of it in a few stores around me (in the gluten free section at Walmart and the nature/organic aisle at the grocery store). If you have a health foods store like Healthway, they have it too. I drive over an hour to the nearest Whole Foods store–they have all the varieties of it. I think most of the kinds cost about $3-$4.

Leave a Reply

