Guest Post – FNCCC 5 – Chili Fries

Guest post brought to you by Shiningstar (and a great recipe it looks to be)!

This week I decided on one recipe, mainly because so many of Sandra’s recipes are tainted with gluten.  Tonight for dinner we had chili fries.  Usually Addy isn’t home when I try out a new recipe, but I planned to make the chili fries at a time when he’d be home because I thought he might like them.

I was very pleased with my recipe selection until I was shopping for the ingredients today at Walmart.  The packet of chili seasoning listed in the ingredients had wheat in it…I checked the off-brands and various types of mild/hot chili seasonings and they were all tainted.  Blah.  I left the store with the rest of the ingredients and figured I would just find a recipe online to make my own, gluten-free chili seasoning.  If you plan on making this, the chili seasoning packets are with the powdered gravy mixes and taco seasonings, and the chili sauce is in a bottle with the other sauces like barbecue sauce.  I spent awhile looking around for it in the “chili” section and finally discovered it two aisles over.

I found a recipe for the chili seasoning which I will include here in case you want to make your own and save a buck or two.
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
1/2 tsp sugar
2 T minced dried onion
1 tsp seasoned salt
1/2 tsp dried minced garlic
1/2 tsp ground cumin (I was out of this so I omitted it)

The recipe was really easy to follow.  I preheated the oven while browning the ground beef.  The recipe didn’t say to drain it, so I didn’t.  By the time it was browned, I put the french fries in the oven and finished the rest of the chili steps.  It only required a little attention on the stove and I was able to play mindless Facebook games while it cooked.

Now…the verdict.  My daughter, who usually snubs any new recipe, kept sneaking over to the stove with a spoon and sampling the chili while it cooked.  The smell was YUMMY.  Can’t say I blame her.  She ate all of hers and licked her plate.  My son (who will eat anything) ate most of his and said it was a little spicy.  I ate all of mine.  It tasted like a sweet, Cincinnati-type chili.  If I made it again, I’d tweak the seasoning to make it less sweet (drop the sugar) and a little more spicy.  I’d also eat it over a baked potato or something, although the fries were really good.  Addy ate a large serving.  He suggested making it a bit less sweet and serving it just as chili or on a bun with a hotdog.  That sounded pretty good too.  I asked him if he’d eat it if I made it again, and he said yes.  Therefore, it passes the test. 🙂

This was an easy dinner.  I’ll be making it again.

5 thoughts on “Guest Post – FNCCC 5 – Chili Fries

  1. Addy says:

    Freshly grated cheese would make this dish look a whole lot better then the processed cheese we used.

Leave a Reply

