Guest Post – FNCCC 4 – 2 Recipes

My apologies for not getting this out on Saturday.  My desktop just got up and running Sunday night so I’m bringing it to you a bit late.  Shiningstar brings you her food stuffz from Alton Brown’s FNCCC last week.

I got a late start this week due to being out of town, but I did manage to get in two recipes.  Tonight I made Peanut Butter Fudge and Turkey Piccata.

I didn’t have high hopes for the turkey, since everyone else’s recipes this week have been pretty much failures.  I was very pleased to discover that our grocery store sells turkey scallopini, which is basically turkey breast that’s sliced thin.  This saved me from having to slice my own turkey breast and pounding it to the specified thickness.  Yay!  I substituted my gluten-free flour mixture instead of the regular flour that the recipe called for.  I also used sticks of margarine instead of butter for the recipe.  Who uses butter anymore??  I put the turkey in the oven while I made the “sauce”, which took longer to make than the few minutes the recipe stated.  It was fine, since I was making rice and green beans to go with this meal and they took a little longer too.

When I put the sauce on the turkey breasts and served it to the kids, Jordan ate all of his.  He made it to the clean plate club, although he didn’t ask for more.  Cady picked at her turkey and said the sauce was “too lemon-y.”  I offered her a turkey piece with no sauce, but she declined and ate half of hers to appease me.  I ate two whole pieces and I could have licked the sauce out of the pan.  I really like lemon, and the shallots/white wine/lemon mix was really, really good.  I would think this recipe could be done just as easily with sliced chicken breasts or even chicken tenders.  If I made this recipe again, I would allow the meat to get more crispy.  I liked the texture of the more browned pieces better than the less browned ones.

After cleaning up the dinner mess, I decided that since tomorrow is Father’s Day I would make Addy some peanut butter fudge.  He loves the kind my aunt makes and I think her recipe is similar to Alton Brown’s.  It was INCREDIBLY easy to make.  I also substituted margarine for the butter in this recipe.  After putting in the whole box of powdered sugar, it was a little hard to stir, but I managed.  As I stirred, I pondered why the recipe said to use a wooden spoon to stir.  Everything up to that point had gone really well, so I just used a wooden spoon and didn’t try another kind.

Addy is still at work and hasn’t tried the fudge, but it tastes just like my aunt’s.  Jordan held a few pieces so I could get a picture for you.  It was set up in the fridge after about an hour.  Very yummy!

2 thoughts on “Guest Post – FNCCC 4 – 2 Recipes

  1. omg I ONLY use butter. That fudge looks amazing. Den would love it, so I’ll probably have to give it a try sometime. I’m really glad your recipes turned out to be more successful than mine did! I think mine would be great if I loved the flavor of tarragon. I’ll probably try making it again and sub garlic in for the tarragon sometime.

Leave a Reply

