FNCCC 1 – Aaron McCargo Jr – Garlic Bread

Mr. McCargo’s taste are certainly not my own.  A lot of his stuff I found very unappealing to my tastes and the few that I did just seemed so very complicated (foreshadow: this will become a common theme).  I also don’t own a grill… well I do own a stove top grill thingie but I didn’t when I made my choice.

Coming off of my garlic chicken pasta fail I didn’t want to undertake anything too difficult so I decided on making his Gotta-Have-A-Lot-Of-Ingredients Garlic Bread.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • Pinch red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • Pinch coarsely ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley leaves
  • Pinch kosher salt
  • 1 Large French Loaf

Directions

Preheat the broiler.

In a small bowl, mix together all ingredients until well combined.  Cut the French loaf in half, lengthwise, and spread the butter mixture liberally on each half.  Arrange on a sheet tray and broil until browned and toasty, about 3 to 4 minutes.  Remove from the oven, slice and serve.

I didn’t alter the recipe at all, I’m not that advanced.  I would have cut the smoked paprika but Betsy managed to find some for her recipe so I just borrowed it.  When I bought the french bread it came in a two pack so I decided to just double the recipe so I could make two loaves.  The amount it made was quite tremendous.  You could easily make two loaves without needing to double the recipe.

I did put a sufficient layer on the bread since it has the Parmesan cheese in it and figured that would melt down some.  The bread gets a nice soft feel from the cheese / butter but still has a nice crunch to it.  I was going to just chop some fresh garlic instead of using the preminced stuff but Betsy had the minced already so I measured it out and was surprised at just how much garlic is in a tablespoon.  I’m glad I didn’t try to chop it.  I did manage to almost nick a 1/2 inch off my finger while chopping parsley!

Dariar gave it a 10 out of 10 (and he doesn’t like anything) and Tiny (Dariar and Linaa’s 16 month old) gave it an MMMmmm.  I was quite impressed.

Okay, I think this will work.  Below this you can click to add a link to your blog for the recipe that you did.  It is open until this Saturday (5/29) at midnight.  Remember that if you don’t have a blog you are welcome to email it to me at reztheweak@gmail.com as a guest post!

Your post won’t show up immediately so don’t worry ’bout that part.

3 entries so far… you’re next!


  1. Curry Chicken Skewers at Waiting for Water to Boil
  2. 3 Recipes
  3. Big Daddy has expensive taste
    You are next…
    Click here to enter
3 thoughts on “FNCCC 1 – Aaron McCargo Jr – Garlic Bread

  1. Just have to say that Dariar loved this garlic bread so much he actually (half jokingly?) asked for it again the next night.

  2. Xeonio says:

    OMG, I’m horrible. I forgot to email you!

    You can get dried parsley which works just as well as fresh parsley and you aren’t wasting a big bundle of it everytime you want to make it.

Leave a Reply

