(IRL) FNCCC

I posted on Saturday about those Pinwheels I made and I’m definitely enjoying cooking.  I’ve started reading the Misadventures of Mub and she does quite a bit of cooking and makes the most adorable sock monkeys.

I picked up a baking sheet this past Saturday at a garage sale for 50 cents so time to put it to work!  She posted a lil’ while back about some Baked Sweet Taters and Avocado Dip that she made as part of the FNCCC.  I’m going to attempt to make them tonight and I’m excited to try it.

I was wondering what this FNCCC (Food Network Chef’s Cooking Challenge) is and finally found a link to where it started at on the bottom of one of her posts.  The blog, I Thank My Mother seems to host it.  Each week she posts a Food Network Chef and a link to the chef’s blog or something like that and you pick a recipe and cook it and blog about it.  How simple is that?

Well, this week is Tyler “Hello” Florence and his recipes are scary!  For someone who is literally dabbling in cooking his recipes are like paint-by-number Mona Lisa’s.  I looked at the entree’s first and the ingredient lists are longer than the cooking instructions!  It’s okay though, I tried not to panic.  I started searching through them and found a few good ones so we’ll see how it goes.  I’ll probably try and do it Saturday night.

Last time I was in Wally World I was lookin’ for a lemon-pepper spice mix that Betsy sometimes uses.  They didn’t have any in so I picked up the closest thing a fiesta lime mix from Mrs. Dash.  It’s REALLY good.  I just coat the shit out of the chicken and plop it in the pan with just a bit of olive oil so it doesn’t stick.  I blacken each side and make sure the chicken is done and I’ve made it like 3 times, usually with asparagus (it’s in season ya know).

I know its simple and kind of cheating since its a premade spice mix but I don’t care because its srsly fucking good.  I never realized just how easy chicken is to cook.  I haven’t even given myself salmonella yet!  I’ve been using a lime (instead of lemon) to squirt on the asparagus after it cooks and I decided to squeeze a half onto the chicken itself and it really becomes a fiesta in your mouth.

I’ll let ya know how things go!

4 thoughts on “(IRL) FNCCC

  1. Shiny says:

    What did you do with your dog??? You have more time for RL now and his pee schedule doesn’t have to be when raid breaks are!

    On a side note, I think it’s great that you are discovering the joys of cooking. If I had more time, I’d do more of it myself. I haven’t tried the Mrs. Dash but I do use the lemon pepper seasoning all the time. It’s good on veggies too!

Leave a Reply

