(IRL) Pinwheels!

Everyone knows I’m an amazing chef right?  I’m not!  Haha, gotcha!

Since I bought my own house I’m trying to get away from fast food all the time.  I’ve been exploring the culinary world with very easy things… like asparagus and random things that involve chicken.  Really easy stuff cuz literally, my ability to cook was measured in the amount of buttons I was required to press on a microwave.

I had a friend coming over and I wanted to be snazzy so I made some appetizers.  Linaa makes these things called Pinwheels every year for the New Years Eve party and I figured I’d make those.  They’re easier than making a sandwich so I figured I couldn’t go wrong… right?


They are super easy to make.  You’ll only need a few things.

1x Red Bell Pepper
1x Bag of Large Flour Tortillas*
1x Small Tub of Cream Cheese with Chives & Onions
1x Package of Shaved Ham (honey ham will make it quite sweet though so I’d go for something a bit saltier)

* – I get the tortillas that are garlic flavored, they add a bit more to the overall taste.

See, so few ingredients you have to wonder if they even have flavor right?

Take one tortilla and spread a layer of cream cheese on it.  Just enough to put down a coating, this will also act as the glue that holds the pieces together when its cut.  Once the cream cheese is spread out lay the ham down the center.  Normal thickness on the shaved ham and you should only have to lay a row down the center (from one end to the other).  Personally I like the super thin ham though so I find it takes a bit more, you need the saltiness from the ham to balance the sweet of the cream cheese and red bell pepper.  Cut the bell pepper in half, gut the insides and then cut it into slivers.  The bell pepper should be just long enough so that you can lay two of them end on end to run the length of the tortilla (in the same line as the ham you laid).  I put them two thick (as you can see in the pic).

Roll the tortilla up and then slice it into 1/2 inch pieces.  The tortilla can tear easily so cut it like you do bread.  That’ll assure the best cuts for it.  Try not to eat them while you make them or you’ll end up with half of what you had been planning on…

The ingredients are super simple and allow for a huge amount of variation on the basic items.  Just remember to balance the salt and sweet or you can easily run it in one direction or another.

11 thoughts on “(IRL) Pinwheels!

  1. Hetake says:

    Got a SC2 beta key, from reserving it. Very fun, I like the current matchmaking system…I don’t get steamrolled at all…I don’t always win, but that’s also good. I enjoy playing!

    I’m in Bronze…I hear you’re Gold/Platinum. grats on the epic skills, yo.

  2. I’m so proud of you I could almost cry. Now if we can just get your skills up to chicken parm level, we’ll be rockin’! ~linaa

  3. Xeo says:

    @Hetake: Nice man! I’m loving SC2. My handle is penguin.xeonio if you wanna gimme a shout.

    @MrAcelow: He flaked on showing up so I had to eat them all myself! They were om nom nom.

    @Betsy: I’m never going to learn to cook it cuz then you’ll stop doing it for me. Food is always better when someone else cooks it!

  4. Xeo says:

    TY! I just got them a week or so ago. I love them, its square plates and bowls and just a plain white so everything you put on them is framed beautifully without it contrasting with the food.

  5. Shiny says:

    Wow Xeo. You should really start going to Pampered Chef parties, the recipes are all that easy and even you could do them. You’re becoming so domestic now that you don’t have anyone to yell at except your dog.

  6. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over
    that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come more formerly again as exactly
    the same nearly very often inside case you shield
    this hike.

Leave a Reply

