WoW: 7 Days Sober

I’m not shaking anymore!

I’ve been wearing a WoW patch though, getting little doses of it to ween myself off.  Reading a few blogs and checking MMO champs.  Quitting WoW frees up amounts of time you didn’t even know you had.  Stopping cold turkey would be insane cuz I don’t know what I’d do with myself.  Maybe take up fashion design and play dress up with the dog.  Anyone need a murloc outfit for your critter?

I have been getting out more though, hanging out with friends and such which is nice and of course the spring weather is a great time to quit the game.  Took Dutch for a walk the other day, he’s so cute now, but he decided that on the last block of the walk he was done.  He laid down and just looked up at me telepathing, Fuck this, to me.  I had to carry him the rest of the way home the lil’ shit.

I’m also very happy to report that my old raid group is doing well.  They full cleared everything this week that we have been accomplishing in the past.  Just goes to show you that you can move on and the absence of your massive ego won’t make the sky fall.

The Cataclysm changes are looking to be massive and sweeping, I don’t think it’ll be the same game after the rumblings of change.  Is that good or bad?  Not sure.  If it keeps going in the same direction that it has been going though I for see a bigger jump to the casual player.  It’s a great business model that is for sure and I’m proud for Blizzard but its not so good for players like me.

I’m sure I’m just getting old, its me pining for the glory days of raiding that required massive man hours and left you feeling elite.  You knew that the awesome gear you were wearing wasn’t going to be worn by the guy PUGing randoms day in and day out.  Oh well, gotta love WoW for what it is and its a great casual game (for people w/the ability to moderate).

Anyway, have a great weekend all and cya for MiniMap Monday!

4 thoughts on “WoW: 7 Days Sober

  1. Kackler says:

    its kinda funny that you can’t quit cold turkey… i know for a fact when i take my months off here and there i can’t help to not look at MMOchamp. its also kinda funny that the minute you leave wow, i start getting feelings that i don’t want to raid anymore, and just stop playing… but i wouldn’t know what to do either. i mean i am gonna quit in a few weeks when school is done cause i don’t play wow in the summer….

    wait a min… did i just vent on how i don’t want to play wow. oh jeez… wow corrupts us all.

  2. Xeo says:

    You’re a corrupting influence madam. When he gets sick from eating the fake grass, wicker basket, and plastic eggs I’m sending you the medical bills.

Leave a Reply

