Ding ding goes the trolly…

QQ goes the priest…

Blizzard has responded to our dismay at the new (now old) bonus on the tier 10. Let’s take a quick refresher on what has transpired with 4p t10 bonus shall we?

Original bonus…

Your Circle of Healing and Penance spells have a 20% chance to cause your next Flash Heal cast within 6 sec to reset the cooldown on your Circle of Healing and Penance spells.

Old bonus…

Increases the effect of your Renew and Power Word: Shield spells by 5%.

New bonus…

This bonus now increases the effectiveness of the caster’s Power Word: Shield by 5% and Circle of Healing by 10%.

I’ve been trying to write this since Monday or Tuesday when I first saw the patch notes changes on World of Raids.  It’s been a bit of a fiasco trying to wrangle it together though and each section has spun me right round.  I’m just gonna hit the points and explain why I’ve had such difficulty putting this together for you.

Spell Usage

I had initially intended to use my own WMO (wowmeteronline.com) as a reference for normal usage of CoH.  I try to use it on cool down but I also use A LOT of renew as well.  Anyway, I got to looking at other random holy priests and found that I use CoH a lot more than most.  It is possible I was simply looking at the wrong people but who knows.  This threw me for a loop though because how could I use myself as a base if others aren’t using it as frequently as I am?  Am I an extreme case that just tries to abuse the shit out of it?

Anyway, here’s the pic of my WMO that I was going to use.

I had to edit it down so that I could fit it a bit more visible on here.  You can find a complete picture of it here.  This was a Festergut fight but its a good look at an extreme setting, Queen or Sindragosa would also be good examples of CoH at its max.

I would have net’d an extra 42,000 healing just from the set bonus if I had it.  That’s a pretty big chunk of healing for just a set bonus.  It is certainly better than the old bonus of +5% renew.

I took a look at it in smaller terms as well.  On average it would have added 370-420 on each of the 6 heals.  Note I don’t have Test of Faith (3/3: Adds 12% healing to targets at or below 50% health).  Even taking the over heal into account I think the set bonus is really good.

Gear

The next thing I was going to look at was simply compare the gear I’d be switching out for it.  That’s when I realized I’m still mainly wearing disc gear and t10.25 is already an upgrade in those slots so no reason I shouldn’t be going for it.

Then I decided I’d just take a quick comparison of t10.25 to the other 25man loot.  What do you lose to pickup the tier pieces?  A quick look at my holy spreadsheet (it uses Bobturkey’s stat weights) shows the tier 10.25 helm, chest, and shoulders as very close to BiS.  Especially if you aren’t doing heroic modes.  The next choice would be gloves over legs.  Why?  Because the crafted legs, Lightweave Leggings, fucking own and the frost badge gloves, Gloves of Ambivalence, aren’t as big of an upgrade over t10.25.

Raw Data (gets a bit mathy)

Then I tried to look at it from simply a raw data stand point.  Just finding the coefficient for CoH was a pain in the ass relatively easy, I just didn’t understand it.  What is a spell coefficient?  Glad you asked.  It is how much of each point of spell power actually gets applied to the spell.

CoH has a coefficient of 40.29% OR roughly 2 out of 5 spell power is actually used for the spell (if you had 500 spell power then CoH would hit for base + 200’ish).  With talents you can bump this coefficient up to almost 52%.  The 4 piece bonus will bump this up to about 56%.  It doesn’t sound like much but as I showed above it can net huge gains if you use CoH a lot.

Conclusion
The 4p t10.25 is definitely good for a CoH spamming holy priest.  I’m a fan of quirky which makes me sad to see the change to it in the first place.  It might also have something to do with the UI as Miss Medicina points out.

The truth is, the default WoW UI is not very good at alerting the player to procs – and Blizz really does need to design their tier bonuses with the default UI in mind.

What pieces do I wear?
Chest / Helm / Shoulders / Gloves

6 thoughts on “Ding ding goes the trolly…

  1. Shiningstar says:

    Ok all the numbers and math…my eyes started to glaze over there a bit, Xeo. If I’m one of the holy priests you are monitoring, you should know that I don’t think I am wearing any pieces of tier gear at the moment. I haven’t gotten any of the .25 upgrades and so some of the drops I have gotten have been better (albeit without that set bonus). I have at least two pieces of the t10 gear sitting in my bags. If and when I do get some of the .25 upgrades which would make the gear better, I would very likely be casting CoH more than I currently do.

  2. Meh. I’m non-plussed wither way.

    I suppose I look at rogue, druid tank and prot warrior, which are pretty OP and compare them to priest ones. 4 pc Prot warrior one allows a 12k absorb every 30s, which is almost like another ‘saved’. Ours is a slight increase to our output…

    I’ve given up being much interested in priest set bonuses (for T10).

    Gobble gobble

  3. xeonio says:

    Its definitely nothing as good as those but it isn’t a bad set bonus… just extremely boring. =(

  4. xeonio says:

    Yea its probably easier to get other random pieces than picking up the t10.25 but if you can I’d say the 4 pieces of t10.25 are worth it.

  5. Conifer says:

    I’m kind of in the same boat. 2 pieces of 251 tier in my bags and enough badges for 2 more pieces. But without the upgrade tokens, they are worthless since the rest of my gear is all 264.

    If I can get my hands on a Trauma, I will work harder at completing the 4pc on my set. Then I will respec/glyph to raid healing and Xeo will be forced to heal the tanks!

Leave a Reply

