IRL – House Sit-u-atin’

Note to the Reader:  Posts with the preface of IRL pertain to my everyday life.  If you are only interested in WoW shenanigans then check back tomorrow, good day!

Since I’ve moved into my house I’ve mostly been living in one room.  The computer room.  I’m just not used to having this much space.  It’s foreign to me.  Growing up my family was rather poor and places we lived were small.  It didn’t help that I had 2 brothers and a sister.  We moved around so much when I was growing up that I learned to lived out of boxes.  I never unpacked because I wasn’t sure when we’d have to pack it all up and move again.

It doesn’t bother me.  Just the way I live.  Now, I’ve got all this space and these blank canvas walls and I’m struggling to find the urge to put things on the canvas.  Some strange phobia that I might have to move it all shortly after putting it up.  It’s weird.

I’ve got several boxes in my living room with assorted items like books, some photos, dishes, a pot and a pan (I only have 1 of each).  Since I’ve got friends coming over for Thanksgiving I should probably get my shit situated, at least presentable to others.  It just astounds me.  Why is it that you have to make a mess BIGGER before you can make it smaller?

I now own several things that houses need like an icebox and a table (with 4 stools) and a couch but I have one item that has a ton of sentimental value.  A cheap, particle board bookshelf that I’ve had for over a decade.  If furniture could talk… man what would it say.

Anyway…

I placed it and started to unpack some boxes creating a huge pile of chaos that I sorted out onto the bookshelf.  Its kind of sappy but after I was done I stepped back and it just kind of hit me.  This is my stuff on my bookshelf in my home.

I know its silly but they say it’s the little things in life.  Those little moments of zen.

I agree.

7 thoughts on “IRL – House Sit-u-atin’

  1. Shiningstar says:

    I had to move a lot when I was growing up, and I totally understand the whole packing/unpacking thing. It’s a pain and you often wonder if it’s even worth the bother.

    I’m very interested in how you are going to cook for Thanksgiving with just one pot and one pan. I am also pondering what this “icebox” is that you refer to. Could that possibly be a refrigerator? Sheesh. Icebox sounds like something my great-grandma would have called it. Because back then, she literally had an icebox, with large chunks of ice to keep things cold. Maybe they do things differently in Oklahoma though. Oh well, if you DO have an icebox, I guess it will save you some money on your electric bill. They DO have electricity there, right?

  2. xeonio says:

    It depends on how you use it. The whole thing is the icebox. The top (where the actual ice and freezing temperatures) is the freezer and the bottom is the icebox (regular cold temperature stuff).

    Kahnti and Salluz are in town for turkey day so no cooking for me!

  3. Eldor says:

    That’s cool. I grew up with 2 brothers and a sister as well. I know how you feel cause at one time I was living in a tent and upgraded to the back of a pickup… life has its ups and downs and I’m glad that your succeeding. I suggest a dart board with pictures of your favorite thing to toss crap at. Like, a pesky raider, or a boss that gives you way too much trouble.

  4. Tapol says:

    I knew exactly what you were talking about when you said icebox…brought back memories of my mama(grandmother) and papa.. just be glad you did not refer to the bathroom as an outhouse!! (Or do you have one??) lol glad you like your house because now with that zen feeling it is a home 🙂 (yours)

  5. Kackler says:

    to make your house better looking to all, i can make you a poster of myself that’s 2’x3′ and it can go in your living room for all to see. but then again, i don’t want to intimidate your house guests, so maybe that poster may do just that… o well

Leave a Reply

