Rez of the Week – Watz

watz RTWWatz is…

A: One of my best friends.
B: The best hunter I know.
C: Someone with too much time on his hands.
D: All of the above.

I’ve known Watz for about 12yrs now I think.  We started playing Magic: the Gathering together back in High School and progressed into a bit of Dungeons and Dragons, MUDs (Multi User Domains, think text based WoW).  Then I got introduced to Everquest and it didn’t take me long to get him hooked as well.  He played a Paladin back then and we’d duo the shit out of stuff.

We stayed mostly in the same guilds, eventually I dragged him into one of the top guilds on the Rallos Zek server, Wudan, and we were both at the world first killing of Kerafyrm (the Sleeper).  Yes, I realize thats nerdtastic!  After that achievement Blizzard had just started Beta for World of Warcraft.  They contacted our guild leader and we both got into the initial beta for WoW.  As soon as it went live… we jumped ship.

Since then I’ve had a chance at watching him do things with the hunter class that I see others just amazed at.  He was always a spec that wasn’t quite the norm for hunters and always excelling at it.  He’s an amazing friend and an amazing WoW player.

Without further ado…

Name: Watz
Class: Hunter

Where are you from: Middle of no where oklahoma.
(Editor’s Note:  In the words of Daemia, “Wow, it’s really flat here.”)

Would you consider yourself… hardcore:
Interesting question, personally I think I am a mix. Not completely hardcore but I do take my raiding serious and enjoy it a great deal. I spend time to refine my spec. Work on what gear will be actual upgrades and see how I can put out a bit more dps.

Main Raid Spec / Dual Spec:
Main atm is: 0/18/53
Off spec is: 60/11/0

What do you use your offspec for:
My off spec is for ease of soloing to do dailies and farming. That and I have always enjoyed the BM path just sadly it isn’t as raid viable as marks or survival.

How long have you been playing:
I have been playing since mid phase 2 beta so approx 6 years nearly 7 now.

What about WoW keeps you coming back:
I keep coming back for the story and my friends that also play.  Being able to see the storyline and the world evolve and change really fascinates me and I wonder where they are going to take it next.  My other joy is the ability for me to spend time with my friends raiding, killing and general mischief/trouble we get into.

Why do you continue to raid with me (Xeonio) knowing you will get yelled at?
Honestly cause I enjoy the no nonsense way you run your raids.  You do not yell just for your own enjoyment. You try and get a group of people to work together and succeed.  I have ran with you across a number of games and your always the same.  Simple, to the point and honest.  I have always appreciated that about you.
(Editor’s Note: /tear.  Thanks for getting me more questions to ask peeps!)

Has WoW taught you anything you’ve applied to IRL:
If anything WoW has taught me sometimes it doesn’t matter where you go friends are still friends no matter the distance and sadly the same goes for idiots and jerks.

If you had to reroll…
Would you choose the same thing: yes
Why: I have been playing a hunter for ages and have truly enjoyed the class.  There are things I would want to change but that’s just because I have focused on the class.

Best Raid Moment:
First time downing ragnaros in the classic content.

Favorite Raid Mod:
Honestly I have 3 mods that are my favs. ORA, Bigwigs and omen.  ORA for the ease of tank windows and the other great options it gives me.  Bigwigs for all the boss info it gives me so I can survive better.  Lastly omen threat meter so I can tell when FD fails.
(Editor’s Note:  Kackler, get OMEN plz.)

Bosses…
Hardest: Coin toss between Ragnaros and C’Thun.  If you do them at the right level they are extremely difficult.  With lots to keep track of.
Easiest: Too many to count.
Favorite: Toss between C’Thun and Yogg-Saron (so far).  I love the complexity of these fights.  You really can’t have anyone slacking in them.  You have to have everyone focusing to be able to do them.

What Food / Flasks do you use:
Prefered self food is blackened dragonfin, mmmm agi food.  Otherwise fish feast is great.  Flask is always that of endless rage, nice chunk of AP with out having to worry about reapplying.

Macros:
I am currently using 5 macro’s to ease the use of some abilities.  Kill command, clickies, various pet abilities and the like.  I have one for each of my main attacks that I use.  I think you could call them a shot macro but not in the sense that people know it from BC.

Rotation:
Current rotation is a priority Q:
Mob health (20%>=) SeS>BA>AS>ES>StS
Mod health (19%<=) SeS>BA>KS>AS>ES>StS
Pretty simple rotation really. Lead off with hunters mark if no other hunter or no hunter with imp HM.  Then go Serpent Sting, Black Arrow, Aimed Shot, Explosive shot then do steady shot till things come off of cool down.  Add in Kill Shot once the mob is below 20%.  I also shift serpent sting to viper sting when I can on mana mobs to aid in my viper mana regen.  Simply put the less time I am in it means less dps loss.

(Editor’s Note:  You might try this over autoshot Marisse.)

What resources do you use to stay current on your class:
I am currently using the spread sheet that is based out of the Elitest Jerks hunter forums.  I also use those forums quite a bit to figure out different things that I can try to up my dps.

Any tips for playing your class:
From the way I look at it there is no real one spec that is good or bad.  You just have to find the build that works for you.  Experiment and look at the numbers.  Never give up and keep trying.

If you could be any mythical creature, What would it be: I’m torn between a Eastern and Western style Dragon.
Why: I have always been fascinated with them.  Thier wisdom, knowledge and power.  The beauty and elegance of them.  They are so large yet can move so fluidly.  Just so many different facets of their existance that just fascinates me.

4 thoughts on “Rez of the Week – Watz

  1. Shiningstar says:

    Next question for Watz: What makes you so happy all the time? Hehe. Watz is singlehandedly one of the most cheerful people I’ve met. 🙂

  2. daemia says:

    Watz is the reason I wanted to try a hunter alt, and also the reason I didn’t want anyone to know about my hunter alt, lest they compare me to Watz.

    Had Needra already passed leadership to Ealill when the beta invites went out? I think I missed that memo…

    Also, I know the questions are standardized, but I would have liked to see a complete list of add-ons.

  3. Watz says:

    A full list of my addons hmmm will have to figure out a way to get that easily. I think there is a current screen shot of my UI on the guild website.

Leave a Reply

