Achievement: Healing Survey!

A little while ago Miss Medicina put out a healing survey.  I was on vacation, which is why I’m going to assume I didn’t get tagged!

/cry

I figured I’d do it anyway, free post ideas are always great.  She’s compiled a list of people who have done the survey as well to help in the tracking them all down.

To the questions!

  • What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?
  • Xeonio, Priest, Discipline
  • What is your primary group healing environment?
  • Raids of course… is there other stuff you can do in this game?
  • What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?
  • It is definitely PW:S.  I always think of it in terms of Dungeons and Dragons.  It is temporary health points above and beyond what you would normally have.
  • What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?
  • Prayer of Mending and/or Divine Hymn.  I dislike them for roughly the same reason, no control.  I know they are powerful spells that should be utilized but I’m not a big fan of unpredictability.  The numbers I see other priests put out (talkin’ bout you Shindig) with PoM are just silly good and its completely passive.  I made a hotkey that targets myself and casts PoM so that I could at least try to constantly have it up but I tend to forget about it.  I don’t even have Divine Hymn on my toolbar, I had to search my spell book the other night in the middle of a raid to cast it (was Vezax hard mode).  I’m ashamed to even say that lol.
  • What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?
  • Versatility fo sho.  More specifically on my spec though, I think few people realize just how amazing Discipline priests are.  They see them near the bottom on healing done and assume they just aren’t doing shit.  A Disc priest with a decent crit lowers the burst damage on a tank so much its insane.  I tend to be a bit of a control freak, always watching what everyone is / should be doing and when I don’t have my main Disc priest, Tapol, I can visibly see the difference she makes on encounters.
  • What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why?
  • Our versatility is a HUGE issue for our class.  You really can give someone too many tools to do a job.  Yes, I can use a flathead on a phillips screw… but the phillips would be more efficient.  Reacting correctly in a situation can be very difficult for a lot of priests.  You also find that priests will find a certain style and if something changes (the talent or the situation) they can struggle to adjust to that situation.
  • In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?
  • Raid healing is about the only thing I do decently.  I love throwing shields (Power Word: Shield) around like bread to ethiopian kids.  I struggle to focus on one target.  Seeing someones healthbar drop makes me want to toss a heal that direction, but that could mean the death of the tank sometimes so its… tough.  When we lost our tank healer for the tunnel on Thorim I took up that spot and we wiped several times as I learned to heal the tank and let the secondary healer heal the rest of the members that were in there.
  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?
  • Its my priest for sure.  I have a myriad of alts that I’ve geared up at different times and played heavily… but I’m always back to the priest.  I didn’t even make it to 60 on my first toon (when WoW was released) before I switched back to a healing role.  A bit of megalomania keeps me playing healers probably.  That control of who lives and who dies… yea, did I mention I was a control freak?
  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?
  • As long as there is someone for me to compete with, I tend to find every class fun.  Recently I hit a benchmark on my shaman and it put me significantly ahead of other shamans (and most healers, cept for F’ing druids) that I’ve raided with.  I lose interest if I don’t have that competition to do better (doesn’t matter if they know they are competing or not).
  • What is your worst habit as a healer?
  • Getting lazy.  I know that the other healers I run with will pickup my slack if I’m not on my A game and sometimes I’ve abused that.  Before my break I started working a lot harder to make sure that even if I was leading raids I was pulling my weight as an individual in the raid.  If you don’t bring your A game, then you can’t expect your raiders to either.
  • What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?
  • I don’t deal with stupidity very well.  Dying to easily avoidable things drives me into a rage.
  • Surgeon General Warns: Fire fucking burns.
  • Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?
  • That’s a really tough question.  I would have to say yes though.  A lot of Disc priests use heals like flash and renew to heal the raid when the main spell they should be using is PW:S.  If you are raid healing its guaranteed that someone else is about to toss a heal on the person you are fixing to heal.  Giving them a shield gives them temporary hit points to survive longer while not causing over heal from another healer.  Its a bonus relationship that should be taken advantage of.
  • What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?
  • Two things.
  • 1.  How did I do on the healing meters?  Yes, I know that this isn’t a great way to determine how effective someone is doing but as a Disc priest I know I should be near the bottom.  If I can come in 2nd or 3rd out of 6 healers and I know the majority of the time I was just doing PW:S then I feel like I was working my ass off.
  • 2.  Did my healing targets die?  This is the most important of the 2 points.  It doesn’t matter if I did 200% more healing than someone else.  If people died to unavoidable damage due to lack of heals than I have failed.
  • What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?
  • That Disc priests should only be healing tanks.
  • What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?
  • Long answer shortened… when to use the right spell at the right time.
  • If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?
  • If they made sure to get Recount Guessed Absorbs they’d see I do a metric fuckton of shielding.
  • Haste or Crit and why?
  • What came first, the chicken or the egg?  It’s the same kind of debate.  Both stats are extremely important and going heavily in either direction as a Disc priest can quickly become detrimental. Haste helps you spit heals out faster but if you get them going to fast you can be casting faster than the global cooldown, making that short cast time mute.  Having to much crit can help to guarantee some big heals but you can’t count on crits which ends up turning into overheal.
  • What healing class do you feel you understand least?
  • Paladin for sure.  The one I used to have in my group knew her shit.  I didn’t have to worry about knowing much about their class because she always knew more than me.
  • What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?
  • I use GRID mainly with GRID mana bars (to make sure other healers aren’t OOM).  I use GRID in conjuction with mouseover macros so I don’t have to physically click them.
  • Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?
  • I used to stack intellect like it was going out of style.  Then the great PoH nerf came along and I switched from intellect only to luminous gems (spell power / intellect) so I could try to marginalize the loss of spell power to that spell. My haste has recently fallen lower than I’d like it because of some random gear upgrades that gave me mega crit so I’ve got a haste gem or two to make up for the loss.

And there is my Healing Survey.  I’m definitely going to tag some peeps though, even if they are slacking!

  • One of These Alts:  He’s got several characters but he’s done a lot of healing lately so it would be nice to his thoughts.
  • Kray’s Adventures:  Before she ditched me to go to another server she was my paladin extraordinaire!  I’ll poke her and make sure she does this /nod.
  • The Casual Collective:  For those that don’t know this is my good friend Daemia.  He’s fucking hilarious AND he has like… 17 accounts full of alts.  I’m sure he can take some time out of his busy leveling to do this.
  • Leafshine:  Last but certainly not least is the wonderful Leafy.  Her posts are like butterflies, small bits of beauty that bring that ray of sunshine.  Her doing this would be the longest post I’ve ever seen from her =)
6 thoughts on “Achievement: Healing Survey!

  1. Regarding the D&D comparison, I’ve thought this myself. Now everytime I give someone temp hit points on my cleric when we’re D&Ding, I make a little bubble noise, which, for the record, is not very easy to do – but I try.

    Divine Hymn seems to be a problem for everyone, I’m just as bad. Personally, I love Prayer of Mending, but in all fairness, I run holy, so I don’t bother with bubbles, and PoM isn’t nearly as good if you’re bubbling people up. I wouldn’t think it would do much good to start it out on yourself anyway though, since hopefully you aren’t taking any damage to send it shooting off and then it just wastes away.

    I must say though, I completely relate to the idea of not liking the fact that you don’t have control over it, and the unpredictability of it. I kinda feel that way about crit. On the rare occasions I do make use of Greater Heal, and it crits, I just get pissed off. Why couldn’t that crit have come on that CoH I cast a split second ago instead of being wasted entirely in overheal? grumble grumble… I’m such a control freak that I don’t even like my heals critting when I did not give them express permission to do so. Hmph.

  2. xeonio says:

    Ya know… I don’t even know what sound it makes. I haven’t listened to in game sounds since beta. I’ll have to turn it on long enough to hear the sound.

    That’s the kewl thing about disc, even if I overheal with a crit it turns into a bubble. When I was Holy crit certainly felt a lot less useful. Holy heals are already substantially larger than disc and the crit just goes to waste so what’s the point of it (other than mana regen).

  3. Conifer says:

    Weren’t we just talking about the control freak issue last night? Ha!

    I think we play healers because we can’t stand putting our health bars (or others) into someone else’s hands. Even when I’m DPSing as a Boomkin, I have my raid frames up and I have the main tank windows up and I’ve even been known to drop Boomkin and heal someone. It’s just reflex reaction.

    As far as versatility goes, I’m a little disappointed that all the healing classes are so versatile now. I love niche roles, but I guess with the loss of 40-man raiding and the growing popularity of 10-man, you simply can’t balance classes for niche roles anymore.

  4. Tagra says:

    This seems like as good a place as any to ask.

    How do you evaluate whether a healer sucks? For that matter, maybe qualify it with an example of a time you said “That healer sucks” so I know what kind of things to look for.

    I mean, obviously if EVERYONE DIES and it is not attributable to something obvious, healers sucking is one potential explanation, but what about when we still win but you’re wondering whether your healers who you know are really good ended up compensating for the healers that you suspect might actually suck ass. How do you evaluate it?

    I know meters aren’t really a good metric… how do you use them? With mana the way it is now, Overhealing mters end up being less useful than in TBC, but if you see someone doing 90% overhealing on say, Flash of Light… does that mean they suck and aren’t fucking paying attention, or they’re really unlucky about other people healing their target up as they hit the button?

  5. Tagra says:

    I bugged Xeo with tells for like half an hour and he answered my questions. Thanks Xeo. Sucks if you were reading this hoping to see the answers though!

Leave a Reply

