Lost puppy…

I’m not totally sure when he went missing.  I think it was around the time 3.0 came out.  At the time I used mainly T, G, F, and Z for hotkeys (cuz I move with WASD).  We got new talents and new spells and… well… I moved Binding Heal off of those hotkeys and lost touch with it.

For those that don’t know about Binding Heal, its a heal similar to our fast heal, Flash Heal, but it also heals you, the caster while it heals your target.  I remember being astonished by it and LOVING it in TBC.  I’m REALLY surprised that I lost track of it.

I only accidentally rediscovered it last night.  I decided to do some pvp’ing before bed (no idea why) and I kept getting into positions where I needed to heal someone else and myself.  I thought, man, wouldn’t that be an awesome heal!

Ever been walking along and you almost trip and fall?  Then what do you do immediately after it?  You look to see if anyone noticed.  That’s how I felt.  Like, WTF, how could I forget about such an amazing spell.

I think the part that stuns me the most is how I could have lost track of such a great spell.  I’m sure there are plenty of circumstances where I needed to heal someone else AND myself at the same time… but nothing leaps out at me (other than PvP).

Anyone else finding themselves not using Binding Heal as much as they used ta?  Maybe some other spell you thought was amazing but its just… lost its usefulness?

Side note:  3.3 Patch Notes and information are up over at MMO Champs.  There’s nothing amazing about priests yet.  I probably won’t do any writeups until there is more information about it… or useful stuff that effects us anyway.

9 thoughts on “Lost puppy…

  1. Conifer says:

    I really, really, really need to start using Nature’s Grasp during Faction Champs. I don’t know why I always forget to use it, but it’s totally awesome in every way for that fight. It’s basically passive CC on a mob attacking me. I bound it to a hotkey and everything, but I just never remember to hit it.

    My goal tonight during Faction Champs is to use it at least once.

  2. Bandrin says:

    Binding Heal ftw! I have actually found myself using it more now than I did in TBC. Typically I use it on fights were I am expecting raid-wide AOE damage to happen constantly. Kologarn, Faction Champs, Acidmaw/Dreadscale to name a few. It really helps me out if for some reason I have an add on me and Fade isn’t helping. It helps me stay focused on the tank and myself at the same time.

  3. Conifer says:

    Nature’s Grasp: While active, any time an enemy strikes the caster they have a 100% chance to become afflicted by Entangling Roots (Rank 7). 1 charge. Lasts 45 sec.

    Something hits me – it gets rooted!

  4. Shiningstar says:

    I used binding heal a lot in one fight in Black Temple when I had to basically just keep a tank and myself alive. I forget which fight it was, as I think I am trying to blot out those memories. As a raid healer now I don’t find myself using it much at all, because I am not usually the one taking damage unless everyone else is too. If everyone else is taking damage, I use PoM and CoH instead. I can see that it would be useful on Faction Champs/Acidmaw and Dreadscale, but I would probably still favor PoM or CoH. For arenas it’s awesome.

  5. xeonio says:

    That’s a really good point… that could have helped a lot there if I had remembered I had it. I really do need to get used to using it again.

  6. xeonio says:

    Maybe thats it Shindig… being a raid healer I don’t often find myself in such a pinch where I have to decide between healing myself and someone important (ie. the tank).

Leave a Reply

