QQ: Disc or Holy

About two months ago we had the big nerf to penance.  I’m still recovering QQ’ing about that.  I still find myself hitting penance with a second or two left on the cool down.  It’s only killed a few people but for some reason I’m just not adjusting to the change.

I decided I’d go and give Holy another try.  COH does, of course, stupid things for your healing meters which I do care about but it still feels very… lacking.  Then you have empowered renew… omg… I instantly fell back in love with renew again.  It is roughly the same as the 51 point shaman talent riptide.

Holy has also helped me realize why I’m so big on mana regen /pools… I’m completely reckless with my mana expenditure.  I had to switch all my spell power / int gems to spell power / spirit gems to try and take more advantage of holy concentration.  It has helped, but I’m still not quite where I need to be.

Holy is NOT discipline though (imagine that!)…

I think this is the first time in my long healing career that I’m not really satisfied with how my priest does his job.  Maybe its just that I’ve seen the best of both worlds and I’ve gotten greedy.

Another reason I’ve wanted to go Holy is because I’m getting close to completing my Val’anyr and the proc off of it basically allows any healer to create divine aegis’.  Holy heals are significantly bigger than discipline so it seems like it would be a much better fit.  When I’m in disc I tend to be a PW:S whore which I don’t think is going to take optimal advantage of the proc.  I guess we’ll just have to see.

That’s enough QQ from me though… my apologizes on no Rez today.  I was working most of the night on my desktop, my hard drive decided to devour itself.  I’ll see if I can get one up and ready to go for you all tomorrow.  I’m not sure if you find them as interesting as I do but I hope so!

2 thoughts on “QQ: Disc or Holy

  1. Shiningstar says:

    My level 70 priest is going to finish the rest of her leveling to 80 as disc. I’ve only done a little bit with disc since pre-BC with Shiningstar, so I’m interested to see how it goes. So far, it doesn’t suit my play style. I guess we will see.

    As for the reckless mana expenditure…myeah…that’s going to take some time and adjustment for you to get used to. I still find myself on new fights running oom the first couple times until I learn to have a little self restraint and curb my passion to keep everyone’s green bar full. Remember this: a dead healer can’t keep anyone else alive. Always leave enough mana to save your own butt. 🙂

    In some of the new content, a lot of the mana issue is finding *just* the right time to send in your shadowfiend, or to blow your Hymn of Hope when it won’t be interrupted. Some of the fights are long enough that you’ll be able to fiend or hymn twice if you are lucky. I also use PoM liberally because with the new set bonus, it’s wonderful and a very affordable use of mana. It’s cheap, it bounces, it heals and makes people happy. What more could we ask for? For the first time in awhile I’m actually using my Prayer of Mending tracker to try to keep it up as often as possible, especially on fights where there’s a lot of raid damage.

    I enjoy reading the Rez of the Week! I’ll be waiting for one tomorrow.

  2. Conifer says:

    Has Shiny been featured yet?

    I wonder what makes her tick. I wonder if she’d be interested in knowing what makes me tick.

    No kiss?

Leave a Reply

