Rez of the Week – Greydune

RTW GreyduneGreydune was originally one of the leads of a guild called No Tears.  I was in Spoils of War at the time and he would occasionally run with us.  He has always been an awesome tank and when I left SoW I kept in touch with him, trying to get him to come raid with us whenever he was available.  Eventually he had the opportunity to join us and it has been great ever since.

I feel like I’ve know Grey forever, he’s just one of those people that feels like family moments after you meet them.  Greydune has an amazing attitude.  He is always chipper and you can just feel the spring in his step when he talks.  He’s also engaged to Marisse (our very first Rez of the Week).

Without further ado…

.

.

.

.

.

Name:  Greydune
Class: Warrior

Where are you from: Sacramento, CA

Would you consider yourself… hardcore: 
Yes and no.  Yes because I play a ton.  No because I don’t get all hung up on the mathematics of the game or on every little detail of the game

Main Raid Spec / Dual Spec:  Prot / Fury

What do you use your offspec for: 
When you yell at me to go DPS in raids

How long have you been playing:
Since the opening release date

What about WoW keeps you coming back:
1) Doing stuff with the family (Marisse and Brigantia)
2) Because I need to assert my bad ass self on the server!

Has WoW taught you anything you’ve applied to IRL:
Yes…Dance moves

If you had to reroll…
Would you choose the same thing:  Yes
Why: Because Warriors are a challenge to learn, but then becomes the easiest class after you get it all worked out.  And we’re indestructible.

Best Raid Moment:
The first time I lead an all No Tears (my old guild) group thru Karazan completely and successfully.  Up until then, Spoils of War used us to help fill out their raids but over looked us mostly.  After that, we realized we don’t need SoW as much they needed us.  It did wonders not only for my confidence, but for the confidence of the 30 others in my guild.

Favorite Raid Mod:
Omen and DBM

Favorite Boss Encounter:
The Little Red Riding Hood Opera Event.  It’s easy and fun and you’d get to hear my brother scream like a girl in vent when he’s changed into little red riding hood

What Food / Flasks do you use:
Dragonfin Filet / Flask of Stoneblood

Macros:
I use a bunch (some are even on our guild website), but my favorite is-
/target dark rune champion
/run SetRaidTarget(“target”,2)
/cast Taunt

This targets a mob, puts a circle on it and taunts it all in one push of the button.  Very handy.

Rotation:
Prot warriors have a lot of abilities that don’t have a CD or is on next swing, so most everything is available to use.  The priority is Shield Slam>Revenge>Shockwave>Devistate>Heroic Strike or Cleave.  Thunder Clap, Demoralizing Shout, Commanding Shout, and Concussion Blow once I’ve got things under control.

What resources do you use to stay current on your class:
MMO-Champion and Stratfu

Any tips for playing your class:
Tons.  I’m always giving advice to other prot warriors.  Ciderhelm (the author of Tankspot.com) wrote a very nice guide for prot warriors on the Community Site (http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=75381044&sid=1).  It’s a great place for people learning prot warriors and people looking to go to the next level.

If you could be any mythical creature, What would it be:  The Rakshasa
Why:  Because in the original D&D Monster Manual, they were drawn as a tiger walking around in a velvet jacket smoking a hooka.  How pimpin” is that?!

RTW grey and beer

Greydune + Beer = PARTY!

5 thoughts on “Rez of the Week – Greydune

  1. It’s always good to hear from the old school gamers that started back on release date, or right before release.

    Have you stuck with just one character the entire time? Or do you have alts that you play also.

  2. Greydune says:

    I have an 80 warlock and pally. I have a hunter that is almost 80, but I just use him to make gems.

    I like my lock too. He’s doing some pretty numbers for DPS in raids, but he’s no Gingervitis (the lock in our raid group). I rolled a pally to see how the other half lives. Warriors and pallys are strikingly similar, but there are details that are pretty significantly different. The pally’s ability to passively generate threat on mobs not targeted by the player is amazing.

    My rogue and mage die too easily. I want them to wear plate and they can’t so I go back to playing Grey. So they will stay at level 20. My druid banker is promising, but I need her to stay by an AH for me.

    I’d like to say thank you to Xeo for having me on his blog and bringing me into his “family” called Relentless. Thanks to my brother Brigantia for healing me everywhere there is possible to go and for being my best friend. Thanks to Merksa and Sharra of No Tears for bringing me into their “family” as well. Thanks to all my fellow raiders and friends without whom I would be nothing. And all the love in my world goes to Marisse my fiancee. She is everything to me and much more.

Leave a Reply

