Rez of the Week – Zalana

RTW Zalana

Much like kittens it seems I like to make Night Elves (the ugliest race ever to walk the face of Azeroth) the weekly Rez.  /le sigh

I’ve known Zalana for along time.  When I parted ways with Spoils of War(SOW) he was one of the people that came with me.  I remember him being a rogue initially but SOW had a few douches that made you not want to play one.  He switched to his warrior and was a tank for quite some time.  TBC rolled around and he went back to the pure pwn that is a rogue.

Zalana is easily confused with assholes, because he likes to spew a lot of shit.  I know we’ve had our random fights that were heated… but never really meant anything.  I think we fight with each other just to fight.

Zal is a good friend though once you bust through that tough exterior (you can see that exterior on the side boob in the screenshot).

Take a few moments and get to know a strong DPS and fellow raid leader…

Name:  Zalana
Class:  Rogue

Where are you from:
All over.  I grew up south of Minneapolis, but through my time in the air force and school, I have been all over the country.

Would you consider yourself… hardcore:
I am a rogue, duh.  Introduce me to a rogue that does not obsess over gear and elitism.

Main Raid Spec / Dual Spec:
Main combat/off mutilate. I try to be combat no matter what, but if my weapons dictate I respec to mutilate. That usually never lasts long though.

What do you use your offspec for:
I only use my offspec if my combat weapons are so far behind in quality that I have no other choice.

How long have you been playing:
Since about a month after release.  If you have known me for a long time, I started out on my warrior (Zalahna) and then switched rogue for TBC.

What about WoW keeps you coming back:
I like that there is always something to work for.  Raiding is the one thing I enjoy the most in the game because it is fun to progress and come back to an old instance months later and totally destroy it to really show how far you have come.

Has WoW taught you anything you’ve applied to IRL:
To be patient with people, and to accept when I fuck up.  Lots of people think I come off as abrasive, but I really am a nice person, if you take the time and effort to get to know me.  I can kinda see how a person might think I am a jerk if they don’t really understand who I am.  I give people a hard time a lot, but I totally expect it in return.

If you had to reroll… Would you choose the same thing:
Well, I dabbled with ranged classes and totally hated them.  I did love healing on my priest in TBC, but I have yet to level her for WoTLK.  I am guessing I would enjoy it again if I ever get the will to get her to 80. I am enjoying my DK too.
Why:
Ranged is too boring for me.  I like constantly moving around and getting right up there in combat.  Tanking requires way too much attention, which is fine with me, but as a tank you have to always be focused.  I enjoy being able to relax a bit by spamming FoK on trash pulls.

Best Raid Moment:
By far by favorite moment was when I was leading our relentless Tempest Keep (already many of you know where this one is going) and saved 24 people to a used run.  This was prior to the confirmation window we now get before you get saved to an instance.  Long story, at the time I freaked out and was super stressed over the whole thing.  Now I look back and /facepalm.  Also any raid where Xeo yells at everyone for fucking something up, then he goes and does said thing, followed by that akward silence in vent. ❤
(Editor’s Note:  I never fuck up.)

Favorite Raid Mod:
Even though I don’t heal, I love having grid up all the time.  I like being aware of what is going on in the entire raid, not just my group of five.  Aside from that, I like recount a lot because measuring my massive throbbing e-peen is nice at times.  There are a lot of good rogue timer mods out there too, but they aren’t really needed unless I am mutilate, which is seldom.

Favorite Boss Encounter:
This one is hard, so many come to mind.  If I had to pick, I would say Vashj.  She was really hard compared to the rest of SSC, and getting her dead was really rewarding.  She also had a lot going on, which I like a lot better than stupid “burn down the boss” fights like Archimonde or Kel’Thuzad.

What Food / Flasks do you use:
Poached Northern Sculpin / Flask of Engless Rage

Macros:
Not many aside from the occasional interrupt rotation macro.  I do use the terrain and graphics enhancing macros though.  If you computer can handle them, look them up for sure.

Rotation:
Open up with garrote from stealth… 3-4 sinister strikes / slice and dice / 5 sinister strikes / rupture … repeat.  Of course this changes depending on how the timers are going and if my cool downs are up, but I try to blow them together to create what I like to call “god mode” in which everything around me dies.

What resources do you use to stay current on your class:
Shadow Panther is THE go-to website for rogue gearing.  If used properly, it can really help you choose weapon combos and armor.  Every serious rogue I have ever talked to has at one point or another used this site.

Any tips for playing your class:
Don’t fall asleep.  Well, that and remembering where vanish is. But for real, I think the biggest thing is making sure slice and dice is ALWAYS up, no matter what.  So many rogues think its okay to miss your timers, especially in mutilate.  That will make your DPS go rock bottom.

If you could be any mythical creature NPC, what would it be:  Jaina Proudmoore
Why:  So I can stare at myself naked in the mirror for hours at a time… duh.

Name:
Zalana (Sean, if you didn’t know already)

Class:
Rogue

Where are you from:
All over. I grew up south of Minneapolis, but through my time in the air force and school, I have been all over the country.

Would you consider yourself… hardcore:
I am a rogue, duh. Introduce me to a rogue that does not obsess over gear and elitism.

Main Raid Spec / Dual Spec:
Main combat/off mutilate. I try to be combat no matter what, but if my weapons dictate I respec to mutilate I sometimes will. That usually never lasts long though.

What do you use your offspec for:
I only use my offspec if my combat weapons are so far behind in quality that I have no other choice.

How long have you been playing:
Since about a month after release. If you have known me for a long time, I started out on my warrior (Zalahna) and then switched rogue for TBC.

What about WoW keeps you coming back:
I like that there is always something to work for. Raiding is the one thing I enjoy the most in the game because it is fun to progress and come back to an old instance months later and totally destroy it to really show how far you have come.

Has WoW taught you anything you’ve applied to IRL:
To be patient with people, and to accept when I fuck up. Lots of people think I come off as abrasive, but I really am a nice person, if you take the time and effort to get to know me. I can kinda see how a person might think I am a jerk if they don’t really understand who I am. I give people a hard time a lot, but I totally expect it in return.

If you had to reroll… Would you choose the same thing:
Well, I dabbled with ranged classes and totally hated them. I did love healing on my priest in TBC, but I have yet to level her for WoTLK. I am guessing I would enjoy it again if I ever get the will to get her to 80. I am enjoying my DK too.

Why:
Ranged is too boring for me. I like constantly moving around and geting right up there in combat. Tanking requires way too much attention, which is fine with me, but as a tank you have to always be focused. I enjoy being able to relax a bit by spamming FoK on trash pulls.

Best Raid Moment:
By far by favorite moment was when I was leading our relentless Tempest Keep (already many of you know where this one is going) and saved 24 people to a used run. This was prior to the confirmation window we now get before you get saved to an instance. Long story, at the time I freaked out and was super stressed over the whole thing. Now I look back and /facepalm. Also any raid where Xeo yells at everyone for fucking something up, then he goes and does said thing, followed by that akward silence in vent. ❤

Favorite Raid Mod:
Even though I don’t heal, I love having grid up all the time. I like being aware of what is going on in the entire raid, not just my group of five. Aside from that, I like recount a lot because measuring my massive throbbing e-peen is nice at times. There are a lot of good rogue timer mods out there too, but they aren’t really needed unless I am mutilate, which is seldom.

Favorite Boss Encounter:
This one is hard, so many come to mind. If I had to pick, I would say Vashj. She was really hard compared to the rest of SSC, and getting her dead was really rewarding. She also had a lot going on, which I like a lot better than stupid “burn down the boss” fights like Archimonde or Kel’Thuzad.

What Food / Flasks do you use:
Poached Northern Sculpin / Flask of Engless rage

Macros:
Not many aside from the occasional interrupt rotation macro. I do use the terrain and graphics enhancing macros though. If you computer can handle them, look them up for sure.

Rotation:
Open up with garrote from stealth… 3-4 sinister strikes / slice and dice / 5 sinister strikes / rupture … repeat. OF course this changes depending on how the timers are going and if my cooldowns rae up, but I try to blow them together to create what i like to call “god mode” in which everything around me dies.

What resources do you use to stay current on your class:
http://www.shadowpanther.net is THE go-to website for rogue gearing. If used properly, it can really help you choose weapon combos and armor. Every serious rogue I have ever talked to has at one point or another used this site.

Any tips for playing your class:
Don’t fall asleep. Well, that and remembering where vanish is.

But for real, I think the biggest thing is making sure slice and dice is ALWAYS up, no matter what. So many rogues think its okay to miss your timers, especially in mutilate. That will make your DPS go rock bottom.

If you could be any mythical creature NPC, what would it be:
Jaina Proudmoore

Why:
So I can stare at myself naked in the mirror for hours at a time… duh.

11 thoughts on “Rez of the Week – Zalana

  1. Shiningstar says:

    “Also any raid where Xeo yells at everyone for fucking something up, then he goes and does said thing, followed by that akward silence in vent. <3" —That's got to be a favorite of mine too, I particularly remember flame walls in Sartharion. It seems as soon as he yells at someone for dying to one "___ fails" then BAM he's dead too. 😛

    My little rogue is like lvl 21 or something pathetic. The class interests me but the melee type of combat stresses me out. I generally play with my camera angle pulled WAAAAY out so I can see what's going on. OK, so all I really notice are green bars anyway, no matter what the camera angle is. At any rate I'm happier away from the havoc and I really do try to keep those rogues alive, even if the Angel Wings I loot from their dead bodies ARE enticing. Nice rez. 🙂

  2. Tagra says:

    I’m sure many people didn’t notice this so I thought I should share it with you. On FL last week, mere moments after he yelled at everyone to “pay attention and don’t get caught by the fucking beams, it’s not hard”, Xeo’s demolisher mysteriously got iceblocked by Hodir’s beam. Fortunately someone broke us out quickly.

  3. Zalana says:

    I was thinking gas clouds on Yogg the other week.

    “THANKS FOR WIPING THE RAID GUYS!!!””

    Next pull…

    “a gas cloud touches xeonio”

    *crickets in vent*

  4. Conifer says:

    Xeo only messes up because he is too busy watching everyone else to make sure they don’t mess up. Otherwise he’s perfect.

    (That should get me slotted for this week at least)

  5. Norhia says:

    Xeo only messes us because he is too busy touching his private trouser treasure trove and finds it more interesting than the raid. Otherwise he’s offering to touch other’s.

    (That should get me invited to his birthday party at least. Wait, no….)

  6. By far by favorite moment was when I was leading our relentless Tempest Keep (already many of you know where this one is going) and saved 24 people to a used run.

    I forgot about that. lawls!

    Good times. Didn’t we try to put together a Sunwell trash run after that?

Leave a Reply

