3.2 Patch Infoz

Patch 3.2.(Editor’s Note:  This post contains spoiler information about 3.2.  If you enjoy being surprised then I would highly advise skipping this post.)

Heya peeps, I didn’t have anything planned for today… was fresh out of ideas.

Luckily for me Blizzard gave me something to talk about.

  • Prayer of Healing: The percentage of spell power this spell gains in healing (per target) has been reduced from 80.7% to 52.6%.
  • Talents
    • Discipline
      • Penance: Cooldown increased to 12 seconds, up from 10 seconds.
    • Holy
      • Inspiration: The buff from this ability now reduces the physical damage taken by the target by 3/7/10% instead of increasing the target’s armor.

Soo….. a bit of nerf it seems.  I hadn’t realized we were so OP.  It seems like Blizzard’s plan to increase the use of Shaman’s Chain Heal is by nerfing the classes that are stomping them.

How do you know how big that nerf is?  Glad you asked…

POH Formula:
Healing Done =
……..( POH Base Heal + Coefficient * Spell Power) * Certain Talents

Variables:
POH Base Heal = 2109 – 2228 (avg. 2169)

Coefficient

  • 80.7% (.807) in 3.1
  • 52.6% (.526) in 3.2

Spell Power = Your spell power

Talents:

  • Focused Will: 1 talent point (1.02) 2 talent points (1.04)
  • Spiritual Healing: Each point is worth 1.02 so 5 talent points equals 1.1

Now, armed with that information we can begin to plug in some numbers.  I took myself as well as a few peeps blogs who I frequent (I hope they don’t mind me using them as an example, click their name for their blogs).

Xeonio = 1987 spell power
Matticus = 2193 spell power
Bobturkey = 1933 spell power
Holy Dueg = 2382 spell power (silly holy priests)

Xeonio 3.1 – 3923 = (2169 + .807 * 1987) * 1.04
Xeonio 3.2 – 3343 = (2169 + .526 * 1987) * 1.04
Loss: 580

Matticus 3.1 – 4077 = (2169 + .807 * 2169) * 1.04
Matticus 3.2 – 3443 = (2169 + .526 * 2169) * 1.04
Loss: 634

Bobturkey 3.1  -3871 = (2169 + .807 * 1933) * 1.04
Bobturkey 3.2 – 3314 = (2169 + .526 * 1933) * 1.04
Loss: 557

Holy Dueg 3.1 – 4501 = (2169 + .807 * 2382) * 1.1
Holy Dueg 3.2 – 3765 = (2169 + .526 * 2382) * 1.1
Loss: 736

Obviously the more spell power you have the bigger the hit you take.  This means Holy priests will be feeling it quite a bit more than Discipline priests.

I tried to check WWS to see how much overheal I was doing with POH but it won’t show per person overheal.  While this is definitely a nerf I’m not sure as to what extent it will be.  Fights where you are spamming it is about the only time you are going to notice it likely.

An interesting note… while I was checking to see how much this would hurt the Glyph of Prayer of Healing I noticed something I didn’t realize (even though it makes sense).  The glyph heals for 20% of the healing done by the POH.  A 4000 point POH you would think would heal for 800… but it doesn’t.  It is effected by Focused Will and I would assume Spiritual Healing as well.  That 800 point heal for Discipline does 832 and for Holy it does 880.  Not a whole lot but still kind of neat and I never knew that the talent gets semi applied to the same spell twice.

thought-break4-rtw1

Penance on the other hand makes me extremely sad.  I don’t understand why they didn’t just change the glyph.  Aspiration (2/2) reduces the cooldown of Penance by 20%.  The Glyph of Penance reduces its cooldown by 2 seconds (and is applied BEFORE Aspiration).  This makes your current Penance cast time, 6.4 seconds.

Then comes 3.2… 12 seconds minus GoPenance is 10 seconds.  Then you apply Aspiration which puts it at 8 seconds.  Which is exactly where it was prior to 3.1.

This confuses the shit out of me.  Why not just nerf the GoPenance like they had originally planned to instead of making it required.  I’m very unhappy about this change.  Penance, for me, goes back to the ‘oh shit’ button it used to be instead of using it on cooldown.

thought-break4-rtw1

Another thing in the patch notes…

Mana Regeneration:  All items that provide “X mana per five seconds” have had the amount of mana they regenerate increased by approximately 25%.

That’s a pretty kewl change.  I think it effects paladins and shamans significantly but priests not so much.  My gear only has 43 mp5 on it…

…oh crap…

This means I have to refigure items on the gear list.  /cry

Oh well, I was going to have to update it to include a lot of hard items that weren’t discovered yet when I made the list.

thought-break4-rtw1

I’m adding things to the post as I read the patch notes so forgive the choppyness of this.

Replenishment:  This buff now grants 1% of the target’s maximum mana over 5 seconds instead of 0.25% per second.  This applies to all 5 sources of Replenishment (Vampiric Touch, Judgements of the Wise, Hunting Party, Enduring Winter Frostbolts and Soul Leech.)

A net loss of .25% mana per second.  I’m currently not having much of a mana issue except on Mimiron and Hodir (fights I spam POH on).  With the slight boost of mp5 (depending on gear) you likely won’t see any difference at all in a raid.

thought-break4-rtw1

One last thing…

Priest

  • The heal from Glyph of Power Word: Shield can now cause Divine Aegis.
  • Mana Burn: Fixed a bug where Mana Burn did not cause fear effects to break when the fear victim had an absorb shield on.

Nothing big in that, just some bug fixes.  There is also a lot of information about profession changes you should take a look at over at MMO Champion.

7 thoughts on “3.2 Patch Infoz

  1. No I don’t mind at all, especially if you link me 😉

    Excellent post. A great summary of the changes. I pretty much agree with everything said.

    I’m a bit sad about Penance.

    I think Inspiration is getting a slight buff too. I’m prtty sure the old one granted about 5% damage reduction via the 25% armour buff.

    Gobbe gobble.

  2. xeonio says:

    @Bobturkey:
    I didn’t talk about the inspiration change at all did I… I was so freaked out about Penance I forgot all about it.

    I’ll have to check the numbers w/some of my tanks to find out how much mitigation they get from the 25% armor increase vs. the 10% damage reduction.

    It seems like a pvp change though… give a flat amount of reduction versus a variable amount. /shrug

  3. daemia says:

    I think the Inspiration change makes that talent absolutely mandatory even if you only raid heal. As for the net effect on the tanks…I’ll leave that to your number crunching.

    I agree with you about Penance and its glyph. That’s just stupid and/or mean.

  4. Steve says:

    Has the base heal of PoH been increased slightly though? It used to be 2091 – 2209. Now it’s 2109 – 2228 according to loads of things.

  5. xeonio says:

    @Steve: I think I pulled my numbers from WoW Wiki on the base amount of the spell… I’m not sure. You are right though on what the base is NOW. I logged in to check the numbers.

    I know now though that the base increase didn’t offset what we lost =(

Leave a Reply

