3.1 Build: 9704 – Tier 8

The Public Test Realms(PTR) got an updated build last night.  The graphics for the tier 8 sets are set in place.  The bonuses were also released.

t8

Curtesy: http://www.mmo-champion.com

Tier 8 bonuses:

Priest T8 Healer 2P Bonus — Increases the critical heal chance of your Prayer of Healing by 10%.

This should be really nice for Disc. Priests.  I haven’t had a chance to do any raid testing on the PTR so I’m not sure how much POH is being used.  A 10% critical bonus is always nice though, especially combined with Divine Aegis.  Holy Priests I don’t see gaining much if anything from this bonus.  I haven’t played Holy in awhile but I don’t think Holy priests are really using it now either.

Priest T8 Healer 4P Bonus — Casting Power Word: Shield also increases spell power by 250 for 5 sec.

Set bonuses are supposed to be just that, a bonus.  Some set bonuses are good enough that after your stat weighting you will still wear it for that bonus.  I used to wear full t7, even though it wasn’t best in slot.  The set bonuses were definitely not worth what I was losing from gear on the same iLevel that was better optimized for my spec.  I’m pretty sure that the tier 8 won’t be optimal for Disc. Priests.  Which sux, cuz I love when my armor matches AND when it looks amazing like our set does.

I’ve been looking at screenshots of gear / weapons from Ulduar and every cloth piece that I’ve seen so far is a recolored tier gear.  I’m hoping they just haven’t implemented graphics for those items yet.  Talk about everyone looking the same… mages in priest tier, warlocks in mage tier (which by the way has pants instead of robes), priests in warlock tier… actually that one might not be so bad.  Warlock tier gear is HAWT!

Oh well, 3.1 is getting closer and I’m getting mored excited.  I’m so ready for new raid content its not even funny.  The variable difficulty with Ulduar should keep us busy for quite sometime (or so Blizzard hopes anyway).  I think there’s supposed to be another tier before we get Icecrown Citadel, I don’t remember.

In the meantime I’ll be getting some raiding in on alts to get them geared up.

2 thoughts on “3.1 Build: 9704 – Tier 8

Leave a Reply

