PTR 3.1: Build 9626

More changes were added as well as some clarifications to previous questions.  I also have some more funtimes with math!

  • Glyph of Fade – Reduces the cooldown of your Fade spell by 9 sec. (Down from 15 sec)
  • Glyph of Mass Dispel — Reduces the mana cost of Mass Dispel by 50%. (Up from 20%)
  • Glyph of Mind Control — Reduces the chance targets will resist or break your Mind Control spell by an additional 17%. (Old – Increases the duration of your Mind Control spell by 30 sec.)
  • Glyph of Smite — Your Smite spell inflicts an additional 20% damage against targets afflicted by Holy Fire. (Old – Reduces the pushback suffered from damaging attacks while casting Smite by 100%.)
  • Glyph of Scourge Imprisonment — Reduces the cast time of your Shackle Undead by 0.5 sec. (Old – Increases the chance of success for your Shackle Undead spell by 8%.)

Some more Glyph changes, all for the better.  The Smite one makes me giggle a bit, here comes my lolSmite build offspec rawr!

Discipline

  • Grace doesn’t reduce damage dealt to the target anymore but now increases the healing received from the Priest by 3% (Up from 2%)

The increase to the heal from Grace is kewl.  It seems to be bugged on the PTR at this time though.  Having Grace up on someone then healing someone else gives the other person Grace, but it doesn’t fall off your first target.  Not sure if that is intentional or not.

  • Renewed Hope now also give you a 100% chance to reduce all damage taken by 3% for 20 sec to all friendly party and raid targets when you Power Word: Shidld a friendly target.

The change to Renewed Hope is either really good for some groups or useless.  My 25 group always has a protection paladin so this seems very moot.  Its possible the damage reduction could stack though, but I’d wager against it.  If you don’t have a protection paladin then this is a pretty good addition.  A very nifty way of giving the Blessing of Sanctuary damage reduction to everyone.

The comments about Discipline Priest throughput and our lack of PW:Barrier atm has prompted this response from the Blues.

I believe there are 1 or 2 more Disc talent changes you don’t have yet that boost healing a little more. We’re not worried about Disc mana generation, because it was really good before, but let us know if you get on the PTR how it feels.

And finally I want to talk about Rapture… again.  On the Elitist Jerks forum the Discipline Priest Compedium has exploded with the 3.1 patch.  Prior to the patch I think it was at 3 or so pages and now you are looking at 10+.  It can be tough to read through all of it but a lot of it is theorycrafting and numbers (which I love to read, but I’m guessing others don’t really care about the math).  Squeakster, a consistent poster on the thread, posted the following math.  He took the current live server Rapture and determined his mp5 over the course of a raid with it and compared it to his theorycrafted mp5.  I’ll list my math below but I followed his formula and while I would end a fight at about 15% mana, I would still have some is the point.  That is without potion, shadowfiend or innervate.

Begin Maths…………………………………………………………………………….

Naxx25 2.14.09:
Patchwerk – 3mins 3seconds (183secs / 5 = 36.6 rounded to 37)
Old Rapture: 38757 mana returned / 37 = 1047mp5

Flash Heals Cast x78:
Live: 48906 mp
PTR: 41574 mp
Live – PTR = 7332 / 37 = 198mp5

PWS Casts x7:
Live: 5607 mp
PTR: 3738 mp
Live – PTR = 1869 / 37 = 51mp5
2.5% of 28k = 700 * 7 = 4900
+4900 mana / 37 = 133mp5 (Only casting PWS on the tank I was healing would result in a Rapture trigger every cast)

PTR MP5’s: 198 + 51 + 133 = 382mp5

Live mp5 – PTR mp5 = 666mp5 loss

666 * 37 = 24642 mana NOT regen’d during the fight.

……………………………………………………………………………….end Maths.

With my current raid buffed 28k mana pool I would still have ended this fight with around 4-5k mana.  I also didn’t take full advantage of the new Rapture either by keeping Weakened Soul on my tank which would have resulted in a large return of mana.

“We are continuously faced by great opportunities brilliantly disguised as insoluble problems.”
– Lee Iacocca

2 thoughts on “PTR 3.1: Build 9626

  1. xeonio says:

    /agree The waiting kills me! I am sitting on the edge of my seat to see if we get PW:Barrier (the group PWS). I like the changes to POH, its great and all but the bubble is what I really want.

Leave a Reply

