Going Deep Disc Spec

I’ve had COH for sometime now.  I was the only priest in our raid group with it so I felt like it was my job to have it (just so the melee could live).  Now the advent of the COH nerf is making me rethink my deep holy aspects (again).  A good friend of mine, Kraylessa, is a deep disc. priest and she has been pretty happy with it overall.  “You won’t be at the top of the meters…” she always tells me, but you will do decent healing, especially on the main tank.  First we look at the spec itself.

56/15/0

That’s the talent spec I will be testing out.  It is only slightly different from Kraylessa’s in that she puts two points into Imp. Renew rather then Healing Focus (Reduces the pushback suffered from damaging attacks while casting any healing spell by 70%).  Even with the changes to knockback I still feel Healing Focus is a requirement for healing.  You’ll notice I didn’t pick up Imp. Divine Spirit.  The change to buff stacking means that the bonus damage will not stack with a shaman’s flametongue totem.  It’s possible you won’t have a shaman in your 10man group but its a sacrifice I’m willing to make.  If you can’t live without it though I’d suggest trying to nix the Healing Focus x2 and put it into that.  The patch that nerfs COH also fixes an important disipline talent, Rapture (Causes you to gain up to 2.5.1% of your maximum mana each time you heal with Greater Heal, Flash Heal or Penance, or damage is absorbed by your Power Word: Shield or Divine Aegis. Increasing the amount healed or absorbed increases the mana gained.)  At the moment, on live, Rapture is bugged in that when you shield someone the mana it tries to return to you is based off the max mana of the person who has the shield.  Warriors, Druids, and Death Knights don’t exactly have a lot of that.

I’m very excited about the fixes to disc as well as the nerf to COH.  I’m going to wait for that patch to do my discpline switch and I’ll give a better update then.  Here’s lookin’ to tuesday!

Leave a Reply

