Circle of Healing Nerf

CH / COH / WG FAQ

It would seem they have decided to go through with the nerf to Circle of Healing and Wild Growth.  Last I had checked the cooldown timer was going to be six seconds, I’m hoping for something a bit shorter though.  During TBC I was a big opponent of nerfing COH.  There were several encounters that seemed to require the spell.  With the release of the new expansion and the sheer ease of Naxxramas it has made me rethink that point of view.  I’m seeing priests that used to spam flash heal only spamming COH now.  It is rather disappointing that one of my spells is going to be nerfed because of some peoples lack of ability, but anyway.  COH is quite amazing though and I’ve been seeing it abused to much.

I feel the need to post here in the hopes of alleviating player confusion.

The first FAQ was a link to my quotes attempting to explain our concerns about Circle of Healing and Wild Growth. This FAQ by contrast is written from a player POV that this is a shaman issue. It isn’t in our minds.

We looked at the three main AE heals and found that CoH and WG were being used too much in too many different situations and making AE healing too easy. CH is supposed to be used in more situations, because the shaman arsenal is smaller. It isn’t as easy to use as CoH and WG. Shamans are still casting other spells.

Of course we realize not every Holy priest is spamming CoH. That’s good — you all will notice less of a difference after the change.

Some encounters will likely be more difficult with this nerf. Malygos phase 1 comes to mind. We are prepared to make encounter changes if necessary.

We explored several options to nerf CoH and WG and eventually settled on a cooldown. You can use those AEs when needed and then switch to single-target heals to top everyone off.

I’m not going to keep responding to this thread, because we have plenty on the topic already, but I wanted to offer a clarification.

My questions now are how this is going to effect my talent decisions.

  • Surge of Light: Your spell criticals have a 50% chance to cause your next Smite or Flash Heal spell to be instant cast, cost no mana but be incapable of a critical hit. This effect lasts 10 seconds.

Surge of Light is an almost guaranteed proc after a COH (that chance is increased if you have the COH glyph).  I’m not sure how practical this talent will be after the nerf though.  If it is a 6 second cooldown as was originally planned then I’m not sure I wouldn’t rather place these in the discipline tree.

  • Divine Providence: Increases the amount healed by Circle of Healing, Binding Heal, Holy Nova, Prayer of Healing, Divine Hymn and Prayer of Mending by 10%.

This is a seemingly nice talent, I don’t actually currently have it though.  I opted for putting my last 5 points into Mental Agility to lower the cost on a variety of spells I use often enough to easily offset an additional 10% healing to COH.

We’ll see how the nerf goes and the changes that will most definitely be forthcoming as a side effect, here’s to hoping for the least possible amount of brokeness!

EDIT:  The ABOUT page was also updated, just click it from the bar above to find out information that you probably don’t care about!

Leave a Reply

