Leveling Holy

Wrath of the Lich King is less than two days away now.  Leveling has become a big wonderment on my mind.  I was thinking I’ll just switch to shadow and level up that way but I still wanted to be able to heal a group to do a 5man as I go up the ladder.  I figure it will be a lot easier to get a group if I’ma healer as most will spec out of that to grind faster.

The question is how to spec for efficient leveling while not gimping my healing?  The first couple of specs I tried went deep holy and deep disc, keeping the main healing talents (coh or penance) while trying to switch some of the healing strength talents (rapture, spiritual healing, etc.) for damage ones (searing light, imp. mana burn, etc.)  Then I got realistic.  The five man dungeons leveling up aren’t going to take any amazing feat of healing talents.  I decided to spec for LOLsmite.

30/28/3

The three into shadow is what really makes this spec.

Spirit Tap 3/3: Gives you a 100% chance to gain a 100% bonus to your Spirit after killing a target that yields experience or honor. For the duration, your mana will regenerate at a 50% rate while casting. Lasts 15 seconds.

At the moment my spirit is 598 spirit unbuffed, that makes it 1196 after killing a mob, that is some SIGNIFICANT mana regen.  I have also picked up divine spirit from the disc tree which will add additional spirit.  I don’t forsee having to drink much if at all while leveling up.

I have one last Black Temple raid tonight, full clear, before I get a chance to respec.  I really can’t wait to test drive this and see how it does.  I did something slightly similar in Beta on a friend of mines priest (who wasn’t as geared as mine /strut) and it was quite successful.  Will update tomorrow on how it goes!

Leave a Reply

